MINUTES

PARISH ASSEMBLY

of the

ARMENIAN CHURCH OF THE HOLY RESURRECTION

January 30, 1983

The Annual Parish Assembly of the Armenian Church of the Holy Resurrection was held on Sunday, January 30, 1983 in the Abrahamian Auditorium. A luncheon prepared by the ACYOA Jrs. and Srs. preceded the meeting.

The meeting was called to order at 1:00 p.m. by Harry Hougas, Parish Council Chairman. Father Vartan DerAssadourian, parish priest, opened the meeting with a prayer. A moment of silence was observed for our departed members of the past year. The meeting was temporarily adjourned for 15 minutes to allow those present to complete their voting. The meeting was recalled to order at 1:20 p.m.

Nominees for Parish Assembly Chairman were Edward Simonian and Stephen DerMargosian and for Parish Assembly Secretary were Adrienne Damian and Queenie Hovhanessian. Stephen DerMargosian was elected Chairman with a vote of 42 out of 60 votes and Adrienne Damian was elected Secretary with a vote of 33 out of 63 votes. Mr. DerMargosian thanked the body and stated that it was nice to see our younger generation participate in this meeting and holding office.

Charles Hovsepian, Parish Council Secretary, read the minutes of the 1982 Assembly. Two revisions were made. The number of votes for Ruth Waite were corrected from 45 to 35, thereby replacing her on the Auditing Committee by John Chiloyan who had received 38 votes.

Mr. DerMargosian recommended that reference to the "defunct" Building Committee be corrected to read "dissolved" Building Committee. Both revisions were accepted and Margaret Bagdigian moved to accept the minutes as revised. Hurach Azarigian seconded and the minutes were approved.

Voting time was from 1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m.

The following reports were given:

Pastor's Report Parish Council's Report Auditor's Report Women's Guild ACYOA Seniors ACYOA Juniors Choir Mr. & Mrs. Club Sunday School Armenian School Father Vartan DerAssadourian Harry Hougas John Chiloyan Margaret Bagdigian Sharon Vartanian Robert Yirigian Adrienne Damian Harry Badrigian Arshal Hoosigian Sirvart Simonian Senior Citizen's Organization Looys Staff Monty Bagdigian Roxie Maljanian

A motion to accept the organization reports was made by Queenie Hovhanessian, seconded by Ruth Swisher and approved.

A report on the 80th Annual Diocesan Assembly was given by Charles Avedesian and accepted.

Under Old Business, Arshal Hoosigian made a motion that when we bow our heads in silent prayer, that the names of our departed members of the past year be mentioned. Charles Avedesian seconded and it was passed.

The Proposed 1983 Budget was presented by Hurach Azarigian. Each category was discussed and any questions answered.

Greg Abrahamian made a motion to amend the 1983 proposed budget that the \$4500 expense of the Building Program Projects be eliminated and the travel and lodging expense of \$1900 be reduced by \$500 to \$1400 to reduce our total budget for 1983 to \$38,800 instead of \$43,800. The motion was seconded by Sarah Yagoobian. After much discussion, the motion was voted upon and defeated. Greg Abrahamian wished to be specifically listed as in favor of the motion.

A motion to accept the budget as presented was made by Sharon Vartanian and seconded by Harry Badrigian. The motion was approved.

The 1983 Recommendations of the Parish Council were discussed and approved.

Under Other New Business, Paul Abrahamian recommended we give the parishoners a chance to nominate a slate of names for the different offices instead of having a nominating committee suggest names. This recommendation will be taken under advisement by the Parish Council.

Artie Simonian, Sr. made a motion to have future Diocesan delegates, excepting incumbents, pay their own expenses. Harry Berberian seconded. The motion was defeated.

Results of the parish voting was as follows. There were a total of 77 ballots cast. *Elected

PARISH COUNCIL

H.Badrigian33M.Bagdigian49 *P.Bagdigian52 *H.DerAssadourian37 *H.Berberian27Q.Hovhanessian33R.Mosey11S.Yirigian53 *

AUDITING COMMITTEE

G.	Abrahamian	35
J.	Chiloyan	55 *
٧.	DerAssadourian	30
Α.	Simonian	27
G.	Simonian	41 *
R.	Waite	37 *

NOMINATING COMMITTEE

М.	Abrahamian	1.0	¥£
Ρ.	Abrahamian	39	
R.	Badrigian	41	
	Galazan	43	*
R.	Hovanesian	39	
E.	Simonian	28	

Harry Hougas acknowledged the services of the Assembly officers and thanked the attendees for their interest and participation.

Father Vartan closed the meeting with a prayer. The meeting adjourned at 5:15 p.m.

Res Varla Rainan

Respectfully submitted

rience Damian

Adrienne Damian Secretary