MINUTES OF ANNUAL PARISH ASSEMBLY ST. THOMAS ARMENIAN CHURCH, TENAFLY, NJ FIRST SESSION - SUNDAY, JANUARY 28, 1990

Chairman George Mekenian called the meeting to order at 11:45a.m. There were 52 people present, adequate for a quorum.

Der Hayr pronounced the opening prayer.

The Chairman announced the officers for the Assembly: Der Arnak Kasparian, President; George Mekenian, Chairman; Ron Kenderian, Vice-Chairman; Alin Papazian, Secretary. Susan Shamamian will substitute today for Alin Papazian who had to go out of town. A tape will also be made of the meeting. George Mekenian asked if that was acceptable. The Assembly responded in the affirmative.

Mr. Mekenian announced that the Annual Report including the minutes of last year's assembly would be distributed at this time. Rose Mekenian , Assembly Secretary for 1989, read the 1989 Parish Assembly minutes.

The Chairman asked if anyone had additions or amendments to the Minutes. Sam Demirjian said he wished to supplement his remarks regarding the Kasparian Fund. He had questioned who was aware of the anonymous donation to the Kasparian Fund in addition to George Mekenian and the response had been that in addition to the Kasparian Fund Directors, those who knew of it were the Pastor and the Parish Council Chairman. A brief discussion followed.

George Mekenian said that the Kasparian Fund has made a comprehensive report that is part of the 1989 Annual Report. He suggested that any further discussion of this subject be held over until the Parish Assembly on February 4th.

Yeretzgin Violet Kasparian moved that the Minutes be accepted as read and amended. She commended Rose Mekenian on an excellent job as Secretary. The motion was seconded. The Assembly accepted the Minutes as read and amended.

Chairman Mekenian asked if anyone had suggestions regarding time of ballotting at the Parish Assembly.
Edward Parseghian made motion to conduct ballotting from 11:30a.m. - 1:30p.m. Motion was seconded and passed with mone opposed.

The Chairman invited Zaven Poosikian, Chairman of the Nominating Committee to present the nominees:

For Parish Council -

Suzanne Daghlian
John Derderian
Charles Doudoukjian, Jr.
Harry Hajinlian
Gregory Hourdajian
Ara Martaian
Richard Keurajian
Ara Pekmezian
Virginia Victoria
Garabed Yazidjian

For Nominating Committee:

Arman Ajamian
Peter Ajemian
Victor Arzoomanian
Eileen Barsamian
Edward Daghlian
Dikris Malool
Arax Parseghian
Edward Parseghian
Albert Papazian
Paul Pinajian

For Auditing Committee:

Hermine Ajemian
Sandra Alpino
Charles Amerkanian
Charles Doudoukjian, Sr.
Artemis Nazarian
Ardis Waldron

for Diocesan Delegate:

Victor Arzoomanian
Arthur Azarik
Frank Avakian-Stoneson
Edward Daghlian
George Mekenian
Shakae Shahinian

Officers of 1991 Assembly: For Chairman -

Peter Ajemian
Ronald Kenderian

For Secretary -

Rose Mekenian Adrienne Tenbekjian

sik etik var englesere e

The Chairman asked if there were nominations from the floor for any of the above offices. There were none.

John Armen made a motion to close nominations. Motion was seconded and passed.

George Mekenian commended Nominating Committee for presenting a fine slate of candidates.

The chair reminded Assembly that as indicated in 1989 Assembly minutes, Roberts Rules of Order will be used where Diocesan By-Laws don't provide for rules of procedure.

George Mekenian asked those present to remind those members not present to attend next week's Parish Assembly.

Motion was made and seconded to adjourn Assembly at 12:25p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Susan Shamamian, Acting Secretary