ST. THOMAS ARMENIAN CHURCH 32nd PARISH ASSEMBLY SESSION I-SUNDAY, JANUARY 26, 1997

Before opening the meeting, Chairman Leon Nigohosian asked Grace Hagopian to determine the existence of a quorum (minimum of 50 paid in full members). It was determined that more than 50 paid in full members were present and the meeting was opened with a prayer by V. Rev. Fr. Papken Dz. V. Anoushian.

Chairman Nigohosian announced the officers of this year's assembly, V. Rev. Fr. Papken Dz. V. Anoushian, President, himself, Chairman and Martha Saraydarian, Secretary. He thanked Secretary Madlen Setian for her excellent job in preparing last year's minutes of the Parish Assembly.

Chairman Nigohosian stated that one Parish Assembly Annual Report per family is for distribution and that said reports should be brought back for the second session on February 2 as duplicates will not be given. He further stated that the Parish Assembly meeting would be conducted in accordance with the By-Laws of the Eastern Diocese and guided by Roberts Rule of Order. He gave instructions on how to be recognized if intending to address the Assembly.

Sylva Torosian made a motion to adopt the agenda of the meeting as they appear in the report. Richard Saraydarian seconded, motion carried.

Andy Ouzoonian made a motion to suspend the reading of the 31st Parish Assembly (1996) minutes until February 2. Grace Hagopian seconded and the motion was carried.

Nominating Committee Chairlady, Lucy Piligian, presented the following candidates for PARISH COUNCIL: Gregory Amerkanian, Onnik Bozian, Mari Camcikian, Lucy Ezgilioglu, Leon Nigohosian, Zabel Pashalian, Irma Saganda, Harry Sanossian, Richard Saraydarian, Madlen Setian, Jack Torosian, and Joseph Zokian. There were no nominations from the floor for Parish Council. For NOMINATING COMMITTEE: Maral Bezjian, Manoog Camcikian, Natalie Capan, Viken Ezgilioglu, Zivart Gulian, Krikor Kucukyan, Elsie Nigohosian, Mary Sanossian, Bertha Yigitkurt, and Sirarpi Yildiz. Samuel Demirjian nominated Henry Hagopian from the floor. Mr. Hagopian accepted the nomination; For AUDITING COMMITTEE:

Diana Bozian, Manoog Camcikian, Arpi Cankar and Viken Ezgilioglu. There were no nominations from the floor. For <u>PARISH ASSEMBLY CHAIRMAN</u>: Leon Nigohosian and Antranig Ouzoonian; For <u>SECRETARY</u>: Martha Saraydarian. There were no nominations from the floor for Assembly Chairman or Secretary. Chairman Nigohosian asked all candidates to come forward and be recognized and instructed Parish Council candidates to see Aram Setian at the conclusion of the meeting for the purpose of having their pictures taken. He thanked Lucy Piligian and her committee for their efforts.

Chairman Leon Nigohosian announced that a list of paid members eligible to vote is available for review if so desired. Ara Babigian asked what the total number is from said list. Hayr Soorp responded that there are 331 paid members eligible to vote with an additional 18 members who paid late and 5 new members. Mr. Babigian then presented Secretary Martha Saraydarian with a copy of one page from the 1994 Voting List and asked that a complete 1997 Voting List be presented to him. Chairman Nigohosian stated that his request would be taken under consideration. The format of the list Mr. Babigian requested would include the amount each person has pledged and paid to the church and would, therefore, be subject to public knowledge. Chairman Nigohosian further stated that Mr. Babigian is entitled to examine the voting list, not receive a copy, and that he is free to so as he has done in the past.

Dr. Bedros Yavu-Sakuk made a motion to begin the second session of the Parish Assembly on February 2, 1997 at 12:30 p.m. Samuel Demirjian seconded and motion carried.

Dr. Levon Capan made a motion that voting begin right after the second session convenes (approximately 12:35-12:40p.m.) and close at 2:00 p.m. Mary Sanossian seconded and the motion carried.

Lucy Piligian made a motion that the second session reconvene at 2:15 p.m. It was seconded by Richard Saraydarian and carried.

Richard Saraydarian made a motion and Silva Torosian seconded that the proposed agenda for the second session be adopted. The motion carried.

Chairman Nigohosian reiterated that the second session would open at 12:30 p.m., voting would begin shortly thereafter during which time lunch will be served, and the meeting would reconvene at 2:15p.m.

Dr. Bedros Yavru-Sakuk made a motion that the meeting be adjourned. It was seconded by Madlen Setian and carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:00 p.m. with a closing pryaer delivered by Fr. Papken.

Respectfully submitted,

Martha Saraydarian Secretary 1997 Parish Assembly Leon Nigohosian Chairman 1997 Parish Assembly V.Rev.Fr. Papken Dz. V. Anoushian Pastor and President 1997 Parish Assembly

Martha Saraydavin