## Ա. ԳՐԻԳՈՐ ԼՈՒՍԱՒՈՐԻՉ ՀԱՅՑՆ ԱՌԱՔԵԼԱԿԱՆ ԵԿԵՂԵՑԻ ՀԷՑՎԸՐՀԻԼ, ՄԵՍԵՉՈՒՍԷՑ

ՀԱՅԿԱԶՈՒՆ ՎՐԴ. ՄԵԼԳՈՆԵԱՆ, Հովիւ



## ST. GREGORY THE ILLUMINATOR ARMENIAN APOSTOLIC CHURCH

110 MAIN ST. HAVERHILL, MASSACHUSETTS 01830 VERY REV. FR. HAIGAZOUN MELKONIAN, PASTOR (617) 372-9227

The Annual Parish Assembly of St. Gregory the Illuminator Armenian Church, Haverhill, Massachusetts, was held in the church on Saturday, April 16, 1983, with twenty-nine (29) members present.

MINUTES OF 1983 ANNUAL PARISH ASSEMBLY

The meeting was called to order by Parish Council Chairman, Anne Kasparian, at 2:27 PM. Very Rev. Haigazoun Melkonian, pastor, gave the invocation and offered a prayer for the following parishioners who had passed away during the past year: Meline Gigmesian, Vartanoosh Tashjian, Shooshan Chooljian, Jacob Chilpyian, Margaret Kasparian, Marderos Tavitian and Margaret Gostanian.

Zaven Gostanian was elected Chairman of the Parish Assembly and Ms. Cynthia Kasparian was elected Secretary.

Parish Council Chairman Anne Kasparian announced that, since a quorum was not present, a decision would have to be made by the membership present whether or not to go forward with the meeting. The decision was unanimous to continue the meeting. She also quoted from the By-Laws that all decisions made by this assembly would have to be by two-thirds vote of the voting members present.

Mrs. Zarty Chilingirian of the Nominating Committee presented the slate for Parish Council, Nominating Committee and Auditing Committee. The following were elected:

Parish Council Martin Aaronian Zaven Gostanian John Ohanessian

James Shahinian

Auditing Committee Michael Devejian Richard Serabian

Sarkis Chobanian

Nominating Committee Edward Der Bogosian

Araxie Derderian Grace Devejian

Since all members of the Auditing and Nominating Committees were not elected by two-thirds vote on the ballot, Chairman Zaven Gostanian asked the voting members to accept the three members receiving the highest votes by a hand vote. The motion was carried by two-thirds vote of the voting members present.

The minutes of the 1982 Parish Assembly were read and accepted.

## MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL PARISH ASSEMBLY OF 1983

The following reports were read and filed: Pastor, Parish Council, Women's Guild, Mr. and Mrs. Club, Choir, and Armenian School.

Richard Serabian gave the report of the Auditing Committee and stated the books were in order and had been accepted by the Auditing Committee.

Parish Council Chairman Anne Kasparian presented the Financial Report and 1983 Budget and responded to questions from the membership.

Parish Council Chairman Anne Kasparian also reviewed all the proposals to be deliberated upon at the Diocesan Assembly in May. The member-ship expressed their views which are to be considered by the Diocesan Delegates.

There was no new business brought forth by the members present.

Parish Council Chairman Anne Kasparian expressed her appreciation to the membership for giving her the opportunity to serve the parish as Chairman of the Parish Council for the past three years. Even though she decided to retire, she would continue to serve the parish as Diocesan Delegate, Chairman of the Stewardship Program and as a member of the Choir. She thanked her Parish Council for their dedication and commitment during the past three years with special appreciation to retiring members Edward Der Bogosian and Sarkis Chobanian. She also expressed appreciation to Hayr Sourp for his efforts and co-operation which resulted in the successful administration of church business during the past three years. She congratulated the newly elected Parish Council and expressed her confidence that they would enjoy the same excellent relationship with Hayr Sourp and with one another.

Hayr Sourp expressed his appreciation to the outgoing members of the Parish Council and welcomed the new members elected. He expressed his disappointment with the church attendance and encouraged the members to bring one other parishioner to church with them on Sundays.

Hayr Sourp offered the closing prayer, and the meeting was adjourned at 4:30 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Cynthia Lagourian
Cynthia Kasparian, Secretary

Very Real Haigazoun Melkonian

Pastor and President, Parish Assembly

/Mr. Zaven Gostanian Zhairman of the Day