## MINUTES OF ANNUAL PARISH MEETING ST. GREGORY OF NAREK ARMENIAN CHURCH CLEVELAND, OHIO

## January 28, 1973

The annual parish meeting of the St. Gregory of Narek Armenian Church was begun with a prayer by Father Diran Papazian at 2:20 pm on Sunday, January 28, 1973. Jack Hacherian, Parish Council Chairman, welcomed the parish members. A roll call was taken by Mickey Bagdasarian to verify total eligible members. The total present numbered 46. This was in excess of one-third of the eligible voting membership of 132 and met the quorum requirements of the constitution.

Richard Aurslanian and Martha Hacherian were elected to serve as Chairman and Secretary of the Day, respectively. At this time, Jack Hacherian presented Diocesan pins to Kevork Arslanian, Garbis Balderian, Harry Chakamian and Krikor Yeranian for their assistance to the Parish Council in the sale of Christmas trees. The tree sale this year yielded a profit of \$1319.

Miss Hacherian read the minutes of the 1971 annual parish meeting which were accepted as read. Father Diran gave the pastor's message in Armenian and English as it appears in the annual report. A few questions regarding the 1972 Annual Report were asked and answered. The membership approved the report as published.

The budget proposed for 1973 amounting to \$25,000 was introduced and approved by majority vote.

The meeting was then turned over to Dr. Kegham Goekjian, Chairman of the Nominating Committee. He announced that the following members of the Parish Council were terminating their terms this year: Noubar Abdalian, Henry Arslanian, Jack Hacherian, Florence Karoghlanian, and Sam Mirakian. The Committee proposed the following slate of names for twoyear terms: Garabed Arpajian, Bob Bagdasarian, Jack Hacherian, and Florence Karoghlanian. Helen Chekemian and Elmas Meketarian were added to the slate by nominations from the floor. A motion was made by Sam Mirakian and seconded by Bob Bagdasarian that nominations be closed. The motion passed. The election was held by ballot vote and the following persons were elected:

- 1. Garabed Arpajian 43 Votes
- 2. Bob Bagdasarian 42
- 3. Helen Chekemian 38 "
- 4. Jack Hacherian 42
- 5. Florence Karoghlanian 28 "

Father Diran expressed that the Nominating Committee should seek out young people in the community for membership in the parish in the coming two or three months so that these persons may be eligible to run for office next year. He further expressed thanks to the Parish Council for carrying out their respective responsibilities during the past year. On behalf, of the community, Richard Aurslanian expressed thanks to the Council members for their outstanding work on many projects this past year.

Dr. Goekjian then announced that the four-year terms as Diocesan delegates of Noubar Abdalian and Ralph Chakerian terminate this year. Since the constitution limits a delegate to two consecutive terms or eight years, Ralph Chakerian is not eligible this year. The following persons were proposed by the Committee: Noubar Abdalian, Mike Chekemian, Nazar Mirakian, and Sam Mirakian. Motion to close nominations was made by Jack Hatchadorian, seconded by Mr. Goekjian, and passed. Noubar Abdalian and Nazar Mirakian were elected as delegates for a four-year term. \* (N. Abdalian - 32 votes; N. Mirakian - 35 votes) The Chairman asked for old business, but there was none. New business was then requested. Alice Hacherian suggested that two boxes or cannisters labeled "Paros" and "Altar Flowers" be placed in the church for contributions to aid the Parish Council with these expenses. The suggestion was considered a good one and Parish Council will follow through.

Florence Karoghlanian suggested that the elected Diocesan delegates attend Farish Council meetings to keep abreast of parish business so that they may adequately represent the parish at the Diocesan Assembly. Father Diran stated that the delegates have very responsible positions and their attendance is Maximum at meetings. Welcomed

Mrs. Ojin Chakamian inquired as to the amount of dues paid to the Diocese. Ralph Chakerian responded that of the \$20 collected from each member, \$12 is sent to the Diocese and \$8 remains here. Last year approximately \$2100 was sent to the Diocese, \$1500 for dues and \$600 for a special Diocesan assessment. Approximately \$1600 will be paid this year if an additional assessment is not requested.

There was some discussion regarding an earlier starting time for the Annual Parish Meeting. It was agreed that next year Parish Council will schedule the lunch and meeting at an earlier hour so as to shorten the period from church through the end of the meeting.

Four names as follows were proposed for the Nominating Committee next year: Noubar Abdalian, Sandra Aurslanian, Mae Hatchadorian, and Ann Karayan. Florence Goekjian moved that the four names be accepted for the Nominating Committee. Motion was seconded by Carlos Bozoklian and passed.

\* Aldereake delegates and Mr. Mike chehemian and Mr. Sam Mirakian

It was recommended that the same persons serve on the Auditing Committee next year. This was approved. The members are Richard Aurslanian, Martha Hacherian, and Jack Hatchadorian.

Father Diran expressed congratulations to those persons who were elected to Parish Council and committee memberships. He wished them success and good health so that they may perform their respective functions.

A prayer in memory of Mary Mirakian was said. The meeting was closed at 5:00 pm with the benediction by Father Diran.

Respectfully submitted,

Marcha Nar erian

Martha Hacherian Secretary of the Day

Rev. Fr. Diran Papazian President

Richard Aurslanian Chairman of the Day