## ST. LEON ANNUAL PARISH ASSEMBLY 1978 MINUTES

(The following is a brief outline of the Parish Assembly.)

The annual Parish Assembly of St. Leon's Armenian Church was called to order at 12:00 pm. on Sunday, February 12, 1978.

After the opening prayer by Der Paree, nominations were accepted for Assembly Chairman. Sarkis Bedevian was nominated and seconded. The minutes of the last year's meeting were read by Agnes Voskian. There were corrections made. The minutes were then accepted as corrected. There was a motion to accept Debra Noorigian as secretary, the motion was seconded and carried.

The Assembly was then turned over to the chairman, Sarkis Bedevian who invited Der Paree to give his report. Der Paree asked the Assembly to formulate a committee to focus the church's objectives and goals. A committee was formed by volenteers from the Parish Assembly.

Sarkis asked if there were any questions on the following reports of the subordinate bodies of the church; Ladies Guild; Sunday School; Armenian School; ACYOA; Senior Center and the Chior. They were asked to elaborate on the objectives and goals, they each did which concluded the regular reports.

A joint committee between St. Leon and the AGBU was brought up. This joint committee has elected Jon Najarian as chairman who updated the Assembly with information. His report included the ajoinning property and the two-story building to be built on this property. Once this expansion takes place, it was mentioned that there would have to be better parking facilities. Nothing was set for this was only a progress report. A discussion followed which brought the report to an end.

At this time, the Diocesan Delegates gave their report giving highlights on the meeting held in May of 1977. One of the proposals the Assembly approved was an alocation for elderly clergy who have no provision for retirement. There are approximately 15 or 20 clergy involved. Made available was \$20,000.

Also approved, provisions were to be made to have a separate diocese in Canada as they are rapidly growing. Next, the ACYOA actovists were expanding with a new director whose main objective is to get the people between the ACYOA and not quite old enough for the Senior Center also involved.

Sarkis asked for recognition to Jimmy Noorigian,
Martin Kapoian and Vahram Varjabedian who have all
served on the Parish Council for fourty years consecutively.
He then asked the nominating committee to conduct the
election, Al Voskian and Mr. Boyajian were asked to help
the committee. There were counted 155 eligible voters
and 72 were present which met the quota. Nominations
were then being accepted. Jon Vaseman was nominated,
the nomination was seconded and closed for the Parish
Council. There were no nominations for the Auditing
Committee or the Nominating Committee. Al Voskian
made a motion that all nominations be closed, all were
in favor.

The Auditing Committee gave their report and there were no questions, however, Jon Najarian commented on the excelent job the committee had done.

The Budget was then discussed and there were a few changes made. The part-time secretary was discussed and the proposed sum of money for 1978 for the part-time secretary was changed from \$1,000. to \$3,000. And the proposed income from Auxiliary Organizations was changed from \$1,500. to \$4,500. The budget was then approved with these changes.

Next on the agenda was New Business. There was one proposal to provide office facilities and furnishings for our Pastor and secretary. The estimated cost of this project including furnishings came to 5,000 or \$6,000. There was much discussion about Sunday School Assemblies and where to seat 90 some odd children, and the cost that was involved. No decision was made.

- 1) The Committee of the 80's was formed by following members:
  - Rex Kachigian, Varsen Torosian, Rose Najarian, Alfred Ferraro, Ruth Bedevian and Joseph Basralian.
  - Their function will be to study goals and priorities of the parish for 80's and submit recommendations to the next Parish Assembly.
- 2) Parish Council be authorized to provide office facilities and furnishings for the Pastor and Secretary and the approximate cost not to exceed \$6,000, including furnishings.

At this time, the Ballot Committee had its report, which was as follows:

Parish Council: Alfred Ferraro, Peter Jesrely,
John Nakashian, Dovie Tilbian
and Edward Torosian. First
alternate Hagop Vartabedian
second, Sarkis Soultanian.

Auditing Committee: Sarkis Bedevian, Rex Kachigian, and Vahram Varjabedian.

Nominating Committee: Andy Dabbakian, Nubar Jessourian, and Grace Pinajian. First alternate Berjouhi Varjabedian.

Sarkis Bedevian then let Der Paree close the meeting with his message and prayer.

With the saying of the "Hayr Mer" and benediction, the meeting was adjourned at 3:00 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Rev. Paree Metjian

Pastor

Sarkis Bedevian

1978 Chairman

Debra Noorigian Recording Secretary