## 1996 ANNUAL PARISH ASSEMBLY MINUTES - ST. GREGORY'S ARMENIAN CHURCH

The annual parish assembly of St. Gregory the Illuminator Armenian Church, Binghamton, NY, was called to order on December 8, 1996, at 12:30 pm in the church hall. Roll call was taken and a quorum was present. Dr. Vahe Garabedian was elected Chairman pro-tem and Pam Russell was elected assembly Secretary.

A vote was taken to accept the minutes of the November 19, 1995, parish assembly.

Remarks by Parish Council Chairman Garabed Fattal were made focusing on the future of St. Gregory's stressing unity and generational responsibility as our duty and the pledge to work together for our churches' continuity.

Deacon George Devejian rendered his thorough report, which is attached.

The annual audit and budget was presented by Lucas Sarkisian which is attached. Harry Kradjian suggested that the previous year's audit should be presented with the current year's audit for comparison. A suggestion was also made to seek a consultation with a C.P.A. to help with the budget.

Reports were given by Louise Kontos, Womens' Guild Chairperson, and the Diocesan Assembly report from Alice Bogdasarian was read by Hagop Injajigian.

There was no old business.

New business discussed included how to generate interest and funds to sustain St. Gregory's. It was agreed that the Parish Council and Womens' Guild would meet in 1997 to "brainstorm" on ways to encourage interest with cultural events, dances, and other functions.

The following parishioners ran for election to the Parish Council and the top three vote-getters were elected: Vahe Garabedian 30

Vahe Garabedian 30 votes \*
Ursula Findikyan 16 votes \*
Lucas Sarkisian 11 votes
Mike Ketchoyian 4 votes
Bob George 29 votes \*

The following parishioners ran for election to the auditing committee and the top three vote-getters were elected: Mike Ketchoyian 28 votes \*

Diran Kradjian 28 votes \* Vahe Garabedian 28 votes \*

Meeting was adjourned at 2:10 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Garabed Fattal, Chairperson

Pam Russell, Assembly Secretary

Rev. Dn. George Devejian, Deacon-in-charge