## THE ARMENIAN CHURCH of the

11 Erwin Place, New Britain, Conn.

The Annual Parish meeting was held on Sunday, January 30, 1977.

The meeting was opened at 1:45 p.m. with a prayer by Fr. Vartan Der Assadourian, after which the meeting was brought to order by the Parish Council Chairmann, Mr. Gregory Abrahamian.

Mr. John Chiloyan was elected as chairman to conduct the meeting with Mrs. Beverly Hoosigian assisting him as secretary. Fr. Vartan Der Assadourian, the Pastor, presided over the Assembly.

The minutes of the last Annual Parish Assembly and the special meeting held on October 17, 1976 were read by Mr. Charles Hovsepian. Mrs. Margaret Badgigian made a motion to approve the two reports, seconded by Mrs. Queenie Hovhanessian. The minutes were accepted unanimously.

Under old business, the pastor's report was givenbby Fr. Vartan Der Assadourian, the Parish Council report by Mr. Gregory Abrahamian and the Auditor's report by Mr. Berj Kallajian. Mr. Harry Badrigian made a motion to accept all three reports. Miss Sarah Yagoobian seconded the motion. The motion was carried.

The following organizational reports were then given:

- 1. Women's Guild
- 2. A.C.Y.O.A.
  - 3. Choir
  - 4. Mr. & Mrs. Club
  - 5. Sunday School
  - 6. Armenian School

Mrs. Margaret Bagdigian
Mrs. Queenie Hovhanessian
for Mr. Gary Hovhanessian
Miss Sarah Yagoobian
Mr. Harry Badrigian
Mrs. Henrietta Kallajian
Mrs. Vartoohi Yessian
for Miss Esgoohi Simonian

Mr. Hurach Azarigian made a motion to accept all the reports, seconded by Mr. Berj Kallajian. The reports were accepted unanimously.

The Building Committee reported by Steven Der Margosian, presented the up to date progress of the building of the new church. An artists rendition and an architectural outline was shown. It stated that the committee is in the process of getting construction costs and formulating affund raising program. After a discussion on the various aspects of the building, it was reported that a full and detailed report would be forthcoming at a special meeting to be held on March 27, 1977. Mr. Hurach Azarigian made a motion to thank the committee for the excellent progress that has been made. The motion was seconded by Mr. Berj Kallajian and passed.

A motion was made by Mr. Gregory Abrahamian to disband the inactive financial investment committee, seconded by Mr. Given Hoosigian. The motion was approved.

Mr. Gregory Abrahamian gave a report on the Regional Meeting which was held in Worcester on November 13, 1976 for the New England area churches. The high ligts of which were, description of method of assessing each church's Diocese dues. The factors were number of members, number of sacrements, pledges, plate and yughakim and presence of parish priest. He also stated that there is no possibility of having our Diocese dues reduced because we are about to embark on a building program.

Under the new business the 1977 budget was presented by Mr. John Maljanian. Mr. Gregory Abrahamian made a motion to accept the budget. Mr. Charles Hovsepian seconded the motion and it was unanimously approved.

The Parish Council presented the following resolution: "That a special membership committee of five (5) persons be nominated and elected at this Parish Assembly. Their duties will be to assist the Parish Priest in obtaining new members and reactivate our non-active members. The committee will meet on a bi-monthly basis, elect their chairman at the first meeting and present a written report at the 1977 Parish Assembly." The resolution was accepted and the following people were named to serve on the committee: Mrs. Queenie Hovhanessian, Mrs. Gloria Azarigian, Yeretzgin Marie Der Assadourian, Mr. Alan Waite, and Mr. Harry Berberian.

Mr. Berj Kallajian made a motion which was seconded by Mr. Charles Hovsepian that all treasurers of church organizations, as of the last day of the year, notify the Pariah Council Treasurer by the end of the second week in January of the following year, of their financial statements in order to insure ample time to have the reports incorporated in the Auditor's Report for our annual meeting. This motion was voted and passed.

The following are the results of the balloting.

Parish Council	L		Auditors	
Gregory Abrahamian	40	12	Levant Azarigian 11	
Lillian Azarigian	7		Vatche DerAssadourian 8	
Harry Badrigian	15		Berj Kallajian 41	*
John Chiloyan	39	*	Diane Shine 5	
Leon Hovhanessian	23	rit		*
Charles Hovsepian	35	*	Ruth Waite 36	rk
Arthur Simonian	20			
Edward Simonian	15			

## Nominating Committee

Mary Abrahamian	34 *	Margaret Abrahmian	9	
Margaret Bagdigian	26	Rose Badrigian	26 *	
Alice Simonian	13	Ruth Swisher	33 *	

## \* Elected

Because of the tie between Mrs. Margaret Bagdigian and Mrs. Rose Badrigian for the nominating committee, both names were placed in a container which Fr. Vartan Der Assadourian drew from to determine who would serve on the committee. Mrs. Rose Badrigian's name was drawn and shall therefore serve on the committee.

Mr. Hurach Azarigian voted a note of thanks to the Chairman and Secretary for the outstanding performance in conducting the meeting.

A vote of thanks was also extended to the Women's Guild, who with the help of the A.C.Y.O.A. prepared a delicous meal which preceded the meeting. Especially the Women's Guild members, Mrs. Vartoohi Yessian, Mrs. Alice Bagdigian, Mrs. Takoohi Yirigian and Mrs. Sonja Ohanian.

Mr. Charles Tekesian made a motion to adjorn the meeting and Mr. John Maljanian seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned at 4:50 p.m. with a prayer led by Fr. Vartan Der Assadourian.

Respectfully Submitted

Beverly Housigian Beverly Hoosigian

Secretary