ARMENIAN CHURCH OF THE HOLY RESURRECTION MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL PARISH ASSEMBLY JANUARY 31, 1988

The annual parish meeting began at 12:40 p.m. with a prayer by Fr. Michael Buttero. A special prayer for our 1987 deceased members. in which their names were given, was also said. Fiftythree(53) members were present. A quorum was established.

Parish Council Chairman, Harry Hougas opened the meeting by asking for nominees or volunteers from the floor for Parish Council members. The following names were added to the slate:

Harry Badrigian, Luck Simonian, Arthur Simonian, Jr. and Peter Bagdigian, Sr.

The meeting was recessed for voting and reconvened promptly at 1:15 p.m. Harry Hougas thanked the Women's Guild for hosting the luncheon just before the meeting.

The following officers were elected for this assembly. Chairman-Given Hoosigian and Secretary- Adrienne Damian.

Minutes of the 1987 Annual Parish Assembly were read by Charles Hovsepian and accepted. He recommended that all candidates names and the number of votes received by each, be given in future reports.

Fr. Michael presented his annual report. The Parish Council and Audit reports were presented. A motion was made and approved to accept the Pastors, Parish Council and Auditors reports.

All church organization and committee reports were read.

Old Business

The page numbering system was purchased and the church was waiting for an electrician to install it.

Additional Divine Liturgy books were purchased and will be placed in the back of the pews.

New Business

There was a great deal of discussion on the 1988 proposed budget and what we could do to cut costs and how we might bring in more money. Some of the recommendations were as follows:

- raise the hall rental dues and rent the hall out more
- get the youth interested in a church activity
- establish our own endowment fund in New Britain establish a Membership committee to obtain new members for our church
- a special request for Christmas and Easter donations should be mailed to the general community

A motion was made and approved to accept the porposed budget.

The Parish Council will post a list of church members on the bulletin board.

A motion was made and approved that starting with the 1989 Parish Assembly, that one member from the Parishioner of the Year Committee be retired and a new member be elected as a replacement.

A motion was made and approved that at Easter and Christmas, the Parish Council make an appeal for donations by sending out envelopes to the Looys mailing list.

Parish Council Recommendations

- a) The Scholarship Committee mail the scholarship guidelines to all parishioners no later than April 1, 1988 and that a copy be permanently placed on the church bulletin board.
- A motion was made and accepted to follow this recommendation.
- b) The Parishioner of the Year Committee mail its guidelines to all parishioners no later than April 1, 1988 and that a copy be permanently placed on the church bulletin board.

A motion was made and accepted to follow this recommendation.

c) That a Pledge Committee with five new members be formed to initiate a program to increase pledge income.

A motion was made and approved that a five member Pledge Committee be formed to initiate and carry through on a program to increase pledges for 1988 and that this Committee draft the necessary help from its parishioners. This Committee will report to the Parish Council who will be responsible for making sure this Committee follows through on its objective.

The following individuals volunteered to serve on the Pledge Committee:

Harry Hougas, Emil Mosey, Given Hoosigian, Harry Badrigian and Leon Hovanesian.

Election Results

Election results were posted on the black board for all to see. The results were as follows: Parish CouncilGreg Abrahamian - 51 votesRose Mosey - 41 votesGail Gregory - 25 votesJohn Maljanian - 43 votesGuy Simonian - 38 votesEdward Simonian - 28 votesLucy Simonian - 5 votesArthur Simonian, Jr. - 14 votesPeter Bagdigian, Sr. - 33 votes

The following have been elected to serve on the Parish Council:

Greg Abrahamian, Rose Mosey, John Maljanian, Guy Simonian and Peter Bagdigian, Sr.

Auditing Committee

· · ·

Ruth Waite - 42 votes Margaret Abrahamian - 17 votes Edward Egazarian - 38 votes Louise Bagdasarian - 19 votes Christine Azarigian - 17 votes Berj Kallajian - 48 votes

The following have been elected to the Auditing Committee:

Ruth Waite, Edward Egazarian and Berj Kallajian

Nominating Committee

Sharon Vartanian - 47 votes Henrietta Kallajian - 48 votes Angel Yerigian - 20 votes Violet Galazan - 31 votes Lillian Azarigian - 19 votes Carol Bailey - 15 votes

The following have been elected to the Nominating Committee:

Sharon Vartanian, Henrietta Kallajian and Violet Galazan.

Fr. Michael closed the meeting with a prayer at 4:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Edrievae Jaman

Adrienne Damian Assembly Secretary

In Muhl Gutter

Fr. Michael Buttero Pastor

Swe Hoosigin

Given Hoosigian Assembly Chairman

-3-