MINUTES OF THE EIGHTH ANNUAL PARISH ASSEMBLY OF ST. JAMES ARMENIAN CHURCH OF WESTCHESTER

The eighth annual Parish Assembly took place on February 8, 1981, at St. James Armenian Church, 55 Lincoln Avenue, Harrison, N.Y. Last year's Parish Assembly Chairman, Ara Ishkanian, called the meeting to order at 12:45 p.m., and the Invocation was given by Rev. Fr. Karekin Kasparian, Paster. Martha Gurahian was elected Parish Assembly Chairwann, and Ellen Ishkanian was appointed Assembly Secretary. Itwas announced that, as suggested by the last Annual Assembly, a tape recording of the Assembly was to be made.

Anita Wolchojian, Chairwoman of the Nominating Committee, presented the candidates for Parish Council, Nominating Committee, and Auditing Committee. She announced that pictures of each Parish Council candidate were posted.

A short recess was then taken so that Assembly participants could cast their ballots and enjoy a light lunch. Following the recess, the minutes of the Special Parish Assembly held on September 14, 1980, at the Armenian Church of Westchester, 55 Lincoln Avenue, Harrison, N.Y., were read by Ann Boghosian. In the discussion that followed, George Davidian noted that the carting company mentioned in the minutes had provided not one but several containers for garbage removal during construction. Aside from this correction, the minutes were accepted as read.

Der Karekin then read his annual report which was gratefully received. He noted the addition of Bob Stepanian and Edward S. Dorian under his notes of appreciation for their conducting of the car raffle.

The Parish Council Report was read by Richard Sarkis ian, the Recording Secretary and gratefully received.

The Assembly Chairwoman then asked if there were any questions or comments on the reports of the various church groups. As there were none, Mrs. Gurahian commended the groups for their work and gratefully received their reports.

The Annual Treasurer's Report, submitted by Ara Shimshidian, was read in his absence by Gare Bashian, Parish Council Chairman. In his report, Mr. Shimshidian recommended the continuation of the pledge system and urged everyone to increase his own financial support of the church as well as seek the additional support of family and friends. During the discussion period, Gare Bashian pointed out that Der Hayr had voluntarily taken a \$1240 cut in his annual salary. Edward S. Derian noted that the report didn't reflect the church's increasing costs for next year because the disbursements for 1980 include all the monies actually disbursed in 1980, not necessarily costs incurred in 1980.

Mr. Derian also pointed out that the bazaar, raffle, and picnic were the three major sources of revenue in 1980 and that we must continue to support these faithfully and generously. The proposed budget for the coming year was accepted as presented.

The Assembly then was opened up for new business. Ohan Bass made a motion to raise membership dues from \$25 to \$35, effective immediately, with these who have already paid for this year being sent a bill for an additional \$10. Gare Bashian pointed out that of 17 churches contacted, the average annual dues assessment is \$60, with only three paying \$25. After some discussion, Mr. Bass' motion was passed.

Harry Ekizian then presented a proposal for enclosing the walkway between the present church sanctuary and the school building. He showed the assembly a small three-dimensional model of his proposal which involves a glass wall with sliding deers.

Edward S. Derian commended Mr. Ekizian for his work and suggested that the Parish Council establish a committee to draw up a list of needs and priorities for future property alterations. Discussion on this proposal was then closed and the election results announced as follows:

Parish Council, 2 year terms: Gare Bashian, Hagep Chetinkaya, Ed Essayan, Jack Hachigian, John Wolchejian, 1 year term, Paul Bashian. Alternate, Florence Omartian. Nominating Committee: Grace Cassidy, Ann Der Boghesian, Sylvia Sarkisian, Alice Shimshidian. Alternate-Ethel Derian. Auditing Committee: Mary Azarian, Robert Bedoukian, Anahid Birnbaum, Alternate-Beb Stepanian.

The Assembly Chairweman thanked Anita Welchejian and the Neminating Committee for their work.

Edward Essayan proposed a resolution expressing the Asembly's thanks to Der Hayr as President of the Parish Council, Gare Bashian as Chairman, and all the Parish Council members for their work in an extraordinary year in our church's history. The resolution was unanimously accepted by the Assembly.

Der Hayr thanked outgoing Parish Council members Ann Der Boghosian and Ohan Bas for their dedicated service and congratulated the new members. Fellowing the benediction, the Assembly adjourned at 3:19 p.m.

Martha Gurahian

Assembly Chairwoman

Respectfully submitted,

Ellen Ishkanian, Secretary

Rev. Fr. Karekin Kasparian

Paster-President