MINUTES OF THE SEVENTH ANNUAL PARISH ASSEMBLY OF THE ARMENIAN CHURCH OF WESTCHESTER

The seventh Annual Parish Assembly took place February 10, 1980 at 1:00 p.m. in St. Andrew's Episcopal Church, 101 North Central Avenue, Hartsdale, N.Y. Invocation was given by Rev. Fr. Karekin Kasparian, Pastor.

Last year's Parish Assembly chairman, Ara Ishkanian, called the meeting to order. An election commenced immediately for Assembly officers. Ara Ishkanian was elected Parish Assembly Chairman, while Anahid Birnbaum (with Ann Boghosian assisting), was designated Assembly Secretary.

The next phase of the meeting was conducted by Martha Gurahian, who chaired the Nominating Committee. Before Mrs. Gurahian presented the slate of nominees for Parish Office in 1980, she expressed concern over the difficulty Nominating Committee members had obtaining acceptances from qualified nominees. Mrs. Gurahian stressed the necessity for more cooperation from parishioners in accepting responsibilities regarding church work.

Following Mrs. Gurahian's comments, and the presentation of the ballot, a motion was made and seconded that a short recess be taken so that Assembly participants could cast their ballots and enjoy a short lunch period. Also, in order to help move the meeting along in an efficient manner, a motion was made and seconded that Assembly participants read the reports of church organizations during the recess and be prepared to ask questions, if any existed, at a later point in the meeting.

At the end of the recess, the meeting was called to order with the next order of business being the presentation of Rev. Fr. Karekin Kasparian's annual report. Der Hayr's report, which included a review of the year's activities, a perspective of Christian principles for our church, and plans for the future, was received with gratitude.

Next, the Parish Council report was read by Barbara Dorian, the Recording Secretary. The report, and accomplishments of the Parish Council during the past year were praised, and the report was gratefully accepted.

For the next order of business Judge Vincent Gurahian gave a report of the Diocesan Assembly, to which he had served as a delegate.

The Church Organization reports were identified, and following some general questions, the reports were accepted as presented.

The report on Property Acquisition and Progress to Date was read by Ed Essayan, Chairman, whereupon George Davidian with the aid of a visual diagram on the blackboard presented the proposed construction plans and changes with approximate costs for the Harrison location.

This was followed by a question and answer period. George Davidian was assisted by Apkar Omartian to respond to questions.

Motion was made that the Parish Assembly authorize the Building Committee with the discretion and under the Parish Council's direction to expend the sum of \$50,000 for the conversion of the Garage Building to a temporary Chapel and Community Hall. If within the discretion of the Parish Council an additional expenditure of money is necessary for the above purpose, the Building Committee is authorized to expend a further sum, not to exceed \$10,000. The motion was carried.

The next motion made was: The Parish Assembly approves the contractual obligation entered into by the Parish Council for the purpose of construction of a Parking Lot on the church property in accordance with the contribution made by Mr. Suren Fesjian in the amount of \$10,000 earmarked specifically for that purpose. Motion carried.

The Treasurer's report of the Council and the Fund Raising Committee was read by Ara Shimshidian, who also presented the budget for 1980 totalling \$63,100. After an open discussion period the Assembly approved of the Budget.

The election results were then read and recorded as follows--six persons to Parish Council are: Greg Chamourian, Vincent Gurahian, Robert Khadjeturian, Richard Sarkisian, Ara Shimshidian, Bernard Tepikian. Five persons to Nominating Committee are: John Babakian, Annette Bashian, Rose Derdiarian, Sylvia Sarkisian, Anita Wolohojian. Three persons to Auditing Committee are: Mary Azarian, Anita Essayan, Anahid Birnbaum.

There were 57 ballots cast and the election committee was thanked for their work.

New Business was then taken in accordance with the day's agenda-- A proposal was made to increase the annual membership dues from \$25 to \$35 per person - motion was defeated.

It was proposed by Ed Essayan, the Chairman of the Parish Council to take an amendment to the Diocesan Assembly regarding article No. 36 (page 31) of the By-Laws: to add the following words "And all church organizations" -- which would make the article read as follows:

"The Auditing Committee, shall examine the accounts of the Parish Council (and all church organizations) at least annually and shall report its findings and recommendations to the Parish Assembly." Motion was carried.

The suggestions—as follows were also made and only discussed. That the Assembly have the opportunity to meet the new proposed candidates at a coffee hour before elections, and also to provide possibly a tape recorder for next year's Assembly meeting, thus giving the secretary an actual record of the meeting.

A motion was made to close this Assembly at 4:30 p.m. and seconded.

Der Hayr thanked the outgoing Parish Council members, congratulated the newly elected officers and with a benediction closed the meeting.

Respectfully submitted

Ara Ishkanian Assembly Chairman

Anahid Birnbaum, Secretary Ann Boghosian

Rev. Fr. Karekin Kasparian Pastor - President