## TENTH ANNUAL PARISH ASSEMBLY ST. JAMES ARMENIAN CHURCH OF WESTCHESTER

## HARRISON, NEW YORK FEBRUARY 6, 1983

The Tenth Annual Parish Assembly was called to order at 12:45 p.m. on Sunday, February 6, 1983, at St. James Armenian Church of Westchester, 55 Lincoln Avenue, Harrison, New York. The Assembly commenced with an Opening Prayer by Reverend Father Karekin Kasparian, Pastor.

Last year's Parish Assembly Chairwoman, Martha Gurahian, invited Ara Ishkanian, Chairman of the Nominating Committee to present the nominees for the present assembly officers. He nominated Albert Darien for Parish Assembly Chairman and Christine Brewster as Assembly Secretary. A request was made for additional nominations from the floor. There being no other nominations, the Assembly voted unanimously for the people presented and secret ballots were cast as 42 members voted for each person.

Chairman Darien requested of the Assembly if there were any new topics for the Agenda that would be further discussed.

1) Jack Hachigian asked to add to the Agenda the matter of reducing the Parish Council members from 11 to 9 members. The motion was seconded and received majority vote.

2) Another item was also added to the Agenda. This item is an amendment to the Section #14B in the By-Laws, concerning the matter of <u>double slate</u> for new officers. By a majority vote this issue was placed on the Agenda for discussion.

The nominations for Parish Council were presented by the Chairman of the Nominating Committee and the request was made if there were any additional nominations from the floor. Der Hayr then requested that before the vote, Jack Hachigian further explain the reduction from 11 to 9 for Parish Council members. Basically, due to our small, yet growing parish, this year it has been difficult to have two candidates for each position. At this point, Parish Council Chairman Jack Hachigian informed the Assembly of a recent decision taken by the Parish Council regarding reducing the number of Council members from 11to 9, and moved that the Assembly move to do the same. After a last minute additional attempt to find further nominees, which proved unfruitful, the Assembly moved unanimously to reduce the number of Parish Council members to 9.

A motion was made by Judge Vincent Gurahian to close the discussion at this point and proceed with balloting. The candidates for Diocesan Delegate, Parish Council, Nominating Committee, and Auditing Committee were read now aloud. As no other nominations from the floor were received, as the Assembly recessed for luncheon, dues paying members were asked to cast their ballots secretly, and to read the reports of the Church organiations. After a short recess for lunch, the meeting convened again as the votes were being counted.

Christine Brewster, Assembly Secretary, read the minutes of the Ninth Annual Parish Assembly, and were approved unanimously.

Der Karekin read the Pastor's Annual Report for 1982, which was gratefully received with respect and enthusiasm.

Judge Vincent Gurahian, Diocesan Delegate, read his report concerning the last Diocesan Assembly. He reported the main issues to us as:

1) The Holy Cross Church in Toronto.

2)Fundraising in reference to our Cathedral mortgage and what place the Church Endownment . Fund should have.

3)Re-Election of our Primate, Most Reverend Archbishop Torkom Manoogian, by a sweeping majority vote for an unprecedented 5th term.

4) Amendments concerning Diocesan By-Laws with regards to Parish Assemblies and Auditing Committees.

5)Resolutions condemning Terrorism and Acts of Violence.

6)Unity Issue and the guidelines voted upon by the Diocesan Assembly and the Prelacy Assembly.

The Parish Assembly then heard John Boyajian, Recording Secretary, read the Parish Council report which was well received and accepted by the Assembly.

Parish Council Chairman, Jack Hachigian, presented the Annual Financial Report in the absence of Treasurer, Garo Bashian. He explained and clarified all necessary points and the report was accepted by the Assembly. A suggestion was made by Mr. Suren Fesjian that our church be more active in the area of Endownment Funding.

The annual report by the Auditing Committee was submitted to the Chair, though it was not printed in the Agenda.

The Assembly went on to the last topic on the Agenda concerning New Business, presented by the Parish Council Chairman, Jack Hachigian.

1)Changes from 2 procedures to 5 procedures for accounting purposes were approved by the Assembly. The 5 budgets will now be: Operating, Capital Improvements, Contingency, Building Fund, and Memorial Fund.

- 2) The allocation of excess funds into 3 categories- Contingency, Capital, and Building Fund, was approved.
- 3)That an excess in the Operating Budget Fund should be distributed in the same proportions as #2 above was approved.
- 4) The motion to make preparations for "plans to develop the property in accordance with the needs of our parish" was approved.

Further new business considered by the Assembly was the By-Laws Article#14B and it was moved to add the words "where possible" after the second line of the second paragraph (p.13), thus, that paragraph to read in its revised form:

"The Nominating Committee shall prepare lists of candidates, double the number of vacancies, where possible, for the election of ..." This motion was seconded and passed by a unanimous vote.

A suggestion was made that pages in the Agenda should be numbered and Der Hayr noted this is often difficult due to the submission of different reports by various people, but perhaps an attempt would be made for the future.

At this point the ballots had been counted and Chairman Ishkanian of the Nominating Committee announced the results.

Diocesan Delegate: Judge Vincent Gurahian, (Alternate: John Vakassian)

Parish Council: Hagop Chetinkaya, Jack Hachigian, Avadis Sakalian, Albert Darien (Alternate: Florence Omartian)

Nominating Committee: Ara Ishkanian, Grace Cassidy, Sylvia Sarkisian, Anita Wolohojian (Alternate: Grace Bozian)

<u>Auditing Committee</u>: Ann D. Boghosian, Anahid Birnbaum, Edmund Papazian (Alternate: Diane Davidian) Chairman Ishkanian thanked all the people who allowed their names to be nominated and who were willing to "put their egos on the line."

Der Hayr thanked everyone who contributed to help make the Assembly a success. He extended a special thanks to Ed Essayan who prepared our tasty lunch, and the three outgoing Parish Council members (Garo Bashian, Edward Essayan, and John Wolohojian) and present Assembly officers.

The Assembly adjourned at 3:45 p.m. with Der Hayr's benediction.

Albert Darien Assembly Chairman

۱

Respectfully Submitted,

istine Brewster

Christine Brewster Assembly Secretary

Fr. Karckin Kasparian Reverend Father Karekin Kasparian

Pastor and President