JAMES ARMENIAN CHURCH OF WESTCHESTER

MINUTES OF THE EIGHTEENTH ANNUAL PARISH ASSEMBLY

FEBRUARY 24, 1991

The Eighteenth Annual Parish Assembly of St. James Armenian Church of Westchester commenced at 12:20 pm on Sunday, February 24, 1991 with an opening prayer by the Pastor, Rev. Fr. Karekin Kasparian.

Lionel Galstaun invited Sylvia Sarkisian, Chairperson of the Nominating Committee to conduct the nominations. Sylvia explained the order of business and announced the candidates as follows:

Parish Council

- Arsham Antreasyan, E. Paul Bashian, Shahen Guiragossian, Martha Gurahian, Hagop Hamparsoumian, Vazken Khachekian, Noray Ohanian, Richard Papalian, Marguerite Sagatelian, Alice Shimshidian.

Nominating Committee - Annette Bashian, Alice Basmajian, Grace Cassidy, Diane Davidian, Ellen Ishkanian, Gale Perzigian, Ara Shimshidian.

Auditing Committee

- Chris Gurahian, Alice Kaladjian, Pauline Leylegian, Lucy Tepikian, Sally Guendjoian.

Diocesan Delegates

- Lionel Galstaun, Vincent Gurahian.

Rose Derdiarian nominated John Wolohojian for Diocesan Delegate and Garo Bashian seconded the motion. Der Hayr stated that since there are 125 dues paying members, the Assembly is entitled to elect 2 delegates and the 3rd to be the alternate. (A few days later, with additional members having paid up their dues, the number of voting members rose to 131).

As there were no more nominations for Parish Council, Nominating Committee and Auditing Committee, motions were made, seconded and carried to close the nominations. Sylvia Sarkisian reported that the Nominating Committee nominated Marguerite Sagatelian as Chairperson and Christina Tashjian as Secretary of the Parish Assembly. As there were no other nominations from the floor, the nominations were closed and seconded and these officers were voted in. The Assembly then recessed for lunch and voting at 12:40 pm. The ballot box was declared open by Der Hayr.

The Assembly reconvened at 1:20 pm, and Marguerite Sagatelian, the elected Chairperson, took the floor. She stated that out of 125 paid members, 65 cast ballots and a quorum was present.

It was moved and seconded that the reading of last year's minutes be dispensed with and they were accepted as stated. The reading of the Pastor's report and the Parish Council report then followed and they were both received as read. Michael Guroian asked about the status of the unity talks. A lengthy discussion ensued (moderated mostly by Judge Vincent Gurahian) which resulted in a motion by Ara Momjian, charging the Parish Council with the responsibility of appointing a committee for enlightenment on the facts of the unity question as well as communication and cooperation with sister parishes to expedite the realization of the goals of the Unity Committee in an appropriate and legal manner. The motion was seconded and passed.

Alice Shimshidian moved to forego the reading of the reports of all other church organizations and that of the Diocesan Delegate. The motion was seconded and carried.

Lionel Galstaun read the Fundraising report and it was accepted as read.

Ed Essayan read the Building Committee report. Michael Guroian raised 2 questions:

- If the IBM grant is approved, will the Boy Scouts sell the property to us? Ed Essayan answered in the affirmative.
- 2. What are the twists and turns of this deal? Ed explained that the Boy Scouts are looking to IBM for a donation of approximately 2 acres of land contiguous to their 1000 North Street site. They plan to build a new headquarters of the gifted parcel. Receipt of the IBM donation will allow them to sell the $5\frac{1}{2}$ acres they presently occupy. The proceeds from such a sale will finance their new construction. Because the Scouts property offers many desirable features, the Committee remains interested in 1000 North Street but must patiently await IBM's final decision as to whether or not they will make the donation. Once the donation is confirmed, it remains for St. James and the Boy Scouts to reach an agreement on terms. In the meantime, St. James is still looking at other properties. Michael Guroian commented that while we are still at our present location, that we spend some money to tend to problems concerning safety; ie, roof and pool.

Der Hayr mentioned that these suggestions or others can be brought to the attention of the Parish Council in writing or in person, which is one of the privileges of any voting member. Ellen Ishkanian suggested to post the Parish Council Agenda on the bulletin board and Alice Shimshidian said we could also have a suggestion box. Lionel Galstaun motioned to receive the report as read. The motion was seconded and carried.

The annual financial report and proposed budget was read by Martha Gurahian, Treasurer. Michael Guroian questioned the proposed budget, specifically the Stewardship Pledge and the Ways and Means Committee. Martha explained the Stewardship pledges have always been met in past proposed budgets, however, in 1990 the Chairperson of that committee resigned and some time elapsed before a new Chairperson replaced him and began to pursue the pledge program, accounting for the reason why we fell short this year. The proposed \$8000 for the Ways and Means Committee to raise was decided upon in order to balance the new budget. Vincent Gurahian motioned that we accept the budget of \$123,650 for 1991 as read. motion was seconded by Ellen Ishkanian. The vote was unanimous.

The winners of the balloting of all offices were as follows:

Parish Council

- 1. Marguerite Sagatelian
 - 2. Alice Shimshidian
- 3. Richard Papalian
 - 4. Martha Gurahian
 - 5. Shahen Guiragossian Alternate: E. Paul Bashian

Nominating Committee - 1. Annette Bashian

- 2. Ara Shimshidian
- 3. & 4. Diane Davidian*
- 3. & 4. Alice Basmajian Alternate: Ellen Ishkanian

*Diane Davidian stated that she would like to resign from the Nominating Committee, which made Ellen Ishkanian the fourth committee member, and Grace Cassidy became the alternate.

Auditing Committee

- 1. Alice Kaladjian
 - 2. Chris Gurahian
 - 3. Sally Guendjoian Alternate: Pauline Leylegian

Diocesan Delegate

- · 1. Lionel Galstaun
 - Vincent Gurahian Alternate: John Wolohojian

The Chairperson then asked if there were any requests for new business at this time; there being none, the meeting was about to be closed when Der Hayr offered concluding remarks and thanked Sylvia Sarkisian and the Nominating Committee, the 3 outgoing Parish Council members; Richard Varadian, Paul Bashian and Ara Ishkanian, and Marguerite Sagatelian and Christina Tashjian, the Officers of the Assembly. He then said a prayer of blessing for the newly elected Parish Council members and the Assembly was formally closed at 4:20 pm.

Rev. Fr. Karekin Kasparian

Pastor and President

Marguertte SagateI

Chairperson :

Christina Tashjian

Assembly Secretary