28TH ANNUAL PARISH ASSEMBLY ST. THOMAS ARMENIAN CHURCH SESSION I - SUNDAY, JANUARY 31, 1993

Assembly Chairman Antranig Ouzoonian asked for verification of the membership in order to establish a quorum of 50 so as to begin the meeting. Gregory Tenbekjian from the Parish Council verified that a quorum was present.

The meeting was opened at 12:45 p.m. when Hayr Soorp Anoushian led us in prayer. Chairman Ouzoonian introduced Hayr Soorp as Preseident of the Assembly, Martha Saraydarian as Secretary and himself as Chairman/ Moderator and welcomed all.

Mr. Ouzoonian explained that the meeting will be governed by the Armenian Church of America Eastern Diocesan by-laws and Robert's Rules of Order and went on to clarify the Diocesan Council's interpretation of by-law #7 which reads: New members are eligible to vote provided they have been registered for 6 months and their dues are fully paid by the date of the Parish Assembly. Dues may be paid at any time during the 6 month period. Therefore, dues may be paid by pre-registered voters up until the Parish Assembly on February 7, 1993.

A second point of clarification was made in reference to the Parish Assembly invitation: Those who have been members for less than 6 months will not be able to vote, either by hand or voice at the Assembly as well as not being eligible to cast ballots.

Hagop Jebejian made a motion to dispense with the reading of the minutes from 1992 as they are attached to the annual report, seconded by Adrienne Tenbekjian, motion carried. Corrections can still be made at next week-'s meeting.

Shake Mekhjian, chairperson of the Nominating Committee, introduced the nominees for Parish Council: Eileen Cnarig Barsamian, Jack Charshafian, Paul Kahaumjian, Seta Kantardjian, Ara Martaian, Leon Nigohosian, Richard Saraydarian, Madlen Evkine Setian, Jack Torosian, Virginia Victoria.

Nominated from the floor by Queenie Varjian were Frank Avakian-Stoneson and Edward Parseghian. George Mekenian seconded. Chairman Ouzoonian explained that a second is not necessary but would be noted. Further nominations made by Arthur Azarik are Ara Babigian, Richard Keurajian and Gregory Tenbekjian.

Violet Kasparian asked that biographies of the additional nominees be printed and mailed. Chairman Ouzoonian so instructed the Nominating Committee.

Haig Varjian made a motion that the candidates presented will fulfill the by-laws for the number of candidates required. Seconded by Violet Kasparian. The slate of candidates was accepted by a two-thirds vote.

For Nominating Committee: Jeannie Amerkanian, Verken Berberian, Alicia Demirjian, Rose Garjian, Hagop Jebejian, Karen Saraydarian, Aram Setian Albert Victoria, Bedros Yavru-Sakuk. Nominated from the floor by Jerry Keosayan were: Rose Mekenian, Albert Papazian, Shake Shahinian and Margaret Varbedian.

Haig Varjian motioned and Adrienne Tenbekjian seconded that the Assembly accept the additional nominations to fulfill the double slate. Motion carried.

For Auditing Committee: Sandra Alpino, Gregory Amerkanian, Seta Izmirly, Dikris Malool, Araxie Pichigian, Mary Sanossian. There were no nominations from the floor.

Officers for the 1993 Assembly: Chairman, Antranig Ouzoonian, Albert Victoria. John Vaniskian nominated George Mekenian from the floor. For Secretary: Mary Ann Saraydarian, Sylva Torosian. There were no nominations from the floor.

The Chairman thanked Shake and her committee and asked Parish Council candidates to join Aram Setian for pictures after the meeting.

Mr. Edward Bashian asked that the confirmation to the Board of Trustees of Michael Halebian, Arthur Azarik and Mary Ann Saraydarian be placed on next weeks Agenda. Violet Kasparian requested that the duties of the Board of Trustees be written and passed out next week.

Ara Martaian questioned why there would be no elections for Diocesan Delegates. The reason is their term has not yet expired. Puzant Torigian questioned the ratio of delegates and church members. George Mekenian explained that the number of delegates and church members is increased or decreased according to the membership at the time when new delegates are elected.

AGENDA: The Chairman asked for approval of the Agenda for next week's meeting: commence meeting right after Divine Liturgy, establish a quorum of at least 50 paid members, recess for lunch and voting.

Edward Parseghian motioned that elections begin at 11:30 a.m. and close at 1:30 p.m. Chairman Ouzoonian responded that according to the by-laws, voting must take place during the meeting.

Jack Charshafian made a motion that balloting begin at 12:30p.m. and close at 2 p.m. George Mekenian seconded. Leon Nigohosian ammended Mr. Charshafian's motion to extend voting till 3 p.m. Susan Shamamian seconded. The ammendment to the motion was defeated.

Chairman Ouzoonian clarified that the starting time for balloting will be upon completion of Badarak and that anyone already on line to register or to cast their ballot at 2 p.m. will be allowed to vote. Mr. Charshafian's motion was called and accpted by the Assembly.

George Mekenian stated that the vacancies on the Nominating Commettee due to members running for office should be filled by the alternated. Haig Varjian made a motion to close the meeting, seconded by Arthur Azarik at 1:50 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Joraydan Mai

Martha Saraydarian Secretary 1993 Parish Assembly