ST. THOMAS ARMENIAN CHURCH 33rd PARISH ASSEMBLY SESSION 1-SUNDAY, JANUARY 25, 1998

Before opening the meeting, Chairman Leon Nigohosian asked Gregory Amerkanian to determine the existence of a quorum (minimum of 50 paid in full members). It was determined that more that 50 paid in full members were present and the meeting was opened at 1 p.m. with a prayer by V. Rev. Fr. Papken Dz. V. Anoushian.

Chairman Nigohosian introduced the officers of this year's assembly, V. Rev. Fr. Papken Dz. V. Anoushian, President, himself, Chairman and Martha Saraydarian, Secretary. He thanked Secretary Martha Saraydarian for her efforts in preparing last year's minutes of the Parish Assembly.

Chairman Nigohosian stated that the Parish Assembly Annual Reports should be brought back for the second session on February 1, 1998 as duplicates will not be given. He further stated that the Parish Assembly meeting would be conducted in accordance with the By-Laws of the Eastern Diocese and guided by Roberts Rule of Order. He gave instructions on how to be recognized if intending to address the Assembly and advised that the Voting Member List is available for inspection if so desired.

Ara Babigian asked how many paid members we have. Hayr Papken responded that St. Thomas has 370 paid members.

Dr. Bedros Yavru-Sakuk made a motion to adopt the agenda of the meeting as it appears in the Assembly report. Richard Saraydarian seconded, motion carried.

Madlen Setian made a motion to suspend the reading of the 32nd Parish Assembly (1997) minutes until February 1, 1998. Ann Ajemian seconded and the motion was carried.

Nominating Committee Chairlady, Zivart Gulian, presented the following candidates for <u>PARISH COUNCIL</u>: Gregory Amerkanian, Ann Ajemian, Tavit Cakirdas, Manuk Camcikyan, Avak Pashalian, Irma Saganda, Harry Sanossian, Hovsep Taktajian, Seta Yavru-Sakuk, and Joseph Zokian. There were no nominations from the floor for Parish Council. For <u>NOMINATING COMMITTEE</u>: Eugenie

Amerkanian, Manuk Camcikyan, Natalie Capan, Lucy Ezgilioglu, Zivart Gulian, Lucy Piligian, Mary Sanossian, Aram Setian, Shake Torigian and Mary Zokian. There were no nominations from the floor for Nominating Committee. For <u>AUDITING COMMITTEE:</u> Gregory Amerkanian and Natalie Capan. There were no nominations from the floor for Auditing Committee. For <u>PARISH ASSEMBLY CHAIRMAN:</u> Leon Nigohosian. Sonia Tashjian nominated Andy Ouzoonian from the floor. Mr. Ouzoonian accepted the nomination. For <u>PARISH</u> <u>ASSEMBLY SECRETARY:</u> Mary Ann Saraydarian. There were no nominations from the floor for Assembly Secretary.For <u>DIOCESAN</u> <u>DELEGATE:</u> Dr. Levon Capan, Manuk Camcikyan, Viken Ezgilioglu, Dr. Haroutune Mekhjian, Irma Saganda, Mary Sanossian, Gregory Saraydarian and Dr. Bedros Yavru-Sakuk. There were no nominations from the floor for Diocesan Delegate.

Chairman Nigohosian asked all candidates to come forward and be recognized and instructed Parish Council candidates to see Madlen Setian at the conclusion of the meeting for the purpose of having their pictures taken. He thanked Zivart Gulian and her committee for their efforts.

Madlen Setian made a motion to close nominations. Mary Sanossian seconded and the motion carried.

Shake Shahinian suggested that candidates wear name tags during the elections. Dr. Capan reported that Grace Hagopian, Susan Shamamian, Ann Ajemian, Arpi Arslanian and himself were coming off the council. Dr. Capan, Grace Hagopian and Susan Shamamian have served for the maximum six years.

Ara Babigian requested a 1997 Voting Membership List to correspond with page 16 from a 1994 Voting Membership List which he presented to Secretary Martha Saraydarian. Chairman Nigohosian explained that according to the New Jersey State Laws and the Diocesan Directives, Voting Membership Lists may be reviewed on church premises and, stated that, as per Diocesan Directive, they are not to be distributed for off premises use.

Grace Hagopian made a motion to begin the second session of the Parish Assembly on February 1, 1998 at 12:30 p.m. with voting to begin at 12:45 p.m. and close at 2 p.m. The second session will reconvene at 2:15 p.m. Richard Saraydarian seconded the motion and it carried. The meeting was adjourned at 1:30 p.m. with a closing prayer delivered by Fr. Papken.

Respectfully submitted,

Martha Saraydarian Secretary 1998 Parish Assembly Leon Nigohosian Chairman 1998 Parish Assembly V. Rev. Fr. Papken Dz. V. Anoushian Pastor and President 1998 Parish Assembly