ST. THOMAS ARMENIAN CHURCH . 34TH PARISH ASSEMBLY SESSION I – JANUARY 31, 1999

Chairman Leon Nigohosian called the meeting to order at 12:55pm. Diane Bourghol and John Torigian acted as Tellers to determine existence of a quorum for the meeting. There were 63 voters present, and there being more than the required 50 voters, the meeting progressed. Dz. V. Papken Anoushian opened the meeting with a prayer. Chairman Nigohosian introduced Dz. V. Papken Anoushian, President of the meeting and Mary Ann Saraydarian, Secretary. He thanked Secretary Martha Saraydarian for her efforts in preparing last year's minutes of the Parish Assembly.

Chairman Nigohosian stated that the list of paid members of the St. Thomas Armenian Church would be available for review on the Secretary's table throughout this meeting. He also reminded the voters to keep the Annual Reports distributed today for use at Session II. He reviewed the fact that the meeting would be conducted in accordance with the bylaws of the Diocese of the Armenian Church and is guided by Robert's Rules of Parliamentary Procedure. He instructed those present to raise their voting cards in order for the votes to count.

Madlen Setian made a motion to adopt the agenda of the meeting as it appears in the Assembly report. Richard Saraydarian seconded, motion carried. Hovsep Taktajian made a motion to suspend the reading of the 33rd Parish Assembly (1998) minutes until Session II. Ann Ajemian seconded, motion carried.

On behalf of the Nominating Committee, Shake Torigian presented the following candidates for – PARISH COUNCIL: (Elect 7) Greg Amerkanian, Arpie Arslanian*, Mari Barikyan, Onnig Bozian, Mari Camcikyan, Levon M. Capan, M.D., Lucy Ezglioglu, Grace Hagopian, Ani Hampartsoumian, Irma Saganda, Harry Sanossian*, Gregory Saraydarian, Madlen Setian, Shake Torigian. There were no nominations from the floor for Parish Council. NOMINATING COMMITTEE: (Elect 5) Natalie Amerkanian, D.M.D., Maral Bezjian, Manuk Camcikyan, Viken Ezgilioglu, Nadya Garipian, Zivart Gulian, Mary Sanossian, Nadine Yavru, Berta Yigitkurt, Sirarpi Yildiz. There were no nominations from the floor for the Nominating Committee. AUDITING COMMITTEE: (Elect 1) Arpi Cankar, Natalie Amerkanian, D.M.D. There were no nominations from the floor for Assembly Chairman. ASSEMBLY SECRETARY: Jane Torigian. There were no nominations from the floor for Assembly Secretary.

Chairman Nigohosian had asked all candidates to come forward and be recognized. He instructed Parish Council candidates to see Aram Setian at the conclusion of the meeting for the purpose of having their pictures taken. He thanked Shake Torigian and the Nominating Committee for all their efforts. Hovsep Taktajian made a motion to close nominations. Mary Sanossian seconded, motion carried by two-thirds vote.

Chairman Nigohosian announced that the date for Session II of the Parish Assembly is scheduled for next Sunday, February 7, with Sunday, February 14 as a possible date in case of inclement weather. He suggested 12:15pm as the starting time for next week's meeting, with recess for voting and a light lunch from 12:30-2:00pm, with the meeting reconvening at 2:15pm. A motion to accept these times was made by Richard Saraydarian and seconded by Sam Demirjian, motion carried.

Madlen Setian made a correction to P33, Exhibit Q, in that the last item should read December 31, 1998 instead of 1997.

The meeting was recessed at 1:10pm, until next week. Fr. Papken gave the closing prayer.

*These candidates are running for a one year period to fill an incomplete term.

Respectfully Submitted

Mary/Ann Saraydarian Secretary, 1998 Parish Assembly

rang an Sacardon

Leon Nigohosian Chairman, 1998 Parish Assembly

V. Rev. Fr. Papken Dz. V.Anoushian Pastor and President 1998 Parish Assembly