ST. THOMAS ARMENIAN CHURCH – 34TH PARISH ASSEMBLY SESSION II, FEBRUARY 21, 1999

Chairman Leon Nigohosian opened the meeting at 12:15pm and asked Tellers John Torigian and Diane Bourghol to take a count of eligible voters present to establish a quorum. 77 voting members were raised and a quorum was established. Fr. Papken Anoushian delivered the opening prayer. Chairman Nigohosian noted that this meeting was two weeks after the originally set date due to Fr. Papken's illness. Since Fr. Papken must be present at the meeting according to the Diocesan ByLaws, the meeting was rescheduled to today. Chairman Nigoshosian also noted that the meeting would be conducted in accordance with **B**iocesan ByLaws and guided by Robert's Rules of Parliamentary Procedure.

Chairman Nigohosian announced that nominations for office were closed at Session I on January 31, 1999. He pointed out that pictures of candidates were on display at the back of the auditorium. He stated that the Voting Membership List was available on the Secretary's table for inspection during voting and would be available throughout the meeting.

Ara Babigian asked the number of eligible voters. Hayr Soorp replied 373.

The meeting was recessed at 12:25pm until 2:15 pm for voting and lunch.

Voting is to start at the beginning of recess and continue until 2:00pm. Anyone on line at 2:00pm will be allowed to cast his or her ballot.

The meeting was convened at 2:15pm by Chairman Nigohosian. He sincerely thanked the luncheon committee and extended a special note of appreciation to Martha Saraydarian for her work as secretary for last year's assembly. Hovsep Taktajian made a motion to dispense with the reading of last year's minute's. Seconded by Richard Saraydarian, motion carried. Chairman Nigohosian asked for additions, corrections or changes to last year's minutes. Dr. Levon Capan clarified paragraph 11, page 2 as "with an \$85,000 surplus" should be amended to "for 1998". Madlen Setian made a motion to adopt the minutes of the 1998 Parish Assembly. Gregory Saraydarian seconded, motion carried.

Chairman Nigohosian again reminded those present that the Voting Membership List was available for inspection during voting and the list may be found on the Secretary's table during the meeting.

The Very Rev. Fr. Papken Dz. V. Anoushian stated that his report was available in the Annual Report. He added, however, that in December, a Young Couples Group was formed with Karen Arslanian and Gregory Amerkanian as co-chairs. It was his hope that they would become very productive members of this parish and he pledged his support and guidance to the group. Father Papken continued, thanking Richard Saraydarian, Leon Nigohosian and Jack Torosian on the completion of six years of service. He thanked them for their total and unconditional support, guidance and trust. There were no questions from the floor regarding Father Papken's report.

Chairman Nigohosian invited Parish Council Chairman Jack Torosian to give his report. Mr. Torosian stated that there was an approximately \$42,500 surplus for 1998 and that we were entering 1999 with total assets of \$450,000. Yeretzgin Violet Kasparian asked for clarification of the number of parish council members to be elected this year. It was stated that three had completed their six year terms and could not, therefore, be reelected this year. Also, three more were running for re-election and one was running to fill a one year incomplete term. There were no further questions from the floor regarding Mr. Torosian's report.

Treasurer Madlen Setian came forward to give the financial report for the church. Chairman Nigohosian asked if there were any questions regarding each particular exhibit. There were no questions from the floor. Richard Saraydarian made a motion to allow for deviation in the budget for + or -10% for any and

all items in the budget. Grace Hagopian seconded. The motion carried. A motion to accept the budget as it appears was carried unanimously.

Diane Bourghol came forward and gave the Auditor's Report. She stated that all organizations of the church had complied except for the Men's Club. The auditors were unable to complete the Men's Club audit. A copy of the auditor's report is attached to these minutes. She asked each treasurer to submit cancelled checks, deposit slips and invoices along with the books, to help the auditing procedure in the future.

There was no Old Business.

Under New Business, Richard Saraydarian made the motion to extend Hayr Soorp's agreement with the St. Thomas Armenian Church for an additional five years. Bedros Yavru-Sakuk seconded, motion carried.

Chairman Nigohosian then asked for any additions or corrections to any of the Memorial Fund and organizational reports. Hasmig Nishanian, Treasurer of the Women's Guild clarified that an entry listed as Women's St. Day Proceeds should read Women's Guild Lenten Luncheon proceeds. There were no other questions or changes. All reports were accepted.

Hayr Soorp suggested changing the dates of the annual Assembly from the last week in January and first week in February to the second and third weeks in February due to the vast amount of work necessary to complete the annual report. After discussion, and due to the fact that many families are away because of President's Day Weekend, a motion was made by Grace Hagopian that the Parish Assembly be scheduled on the third Sunday in February and the following Sunday. Seconded by Hovsep Taktajian, motion carried.

Chairman Nigohosian invited Mrs. Lucy Piligian to announce the results of the election. She stated that 116 ballots were cast. The winners are: For PARISH COUNCIL: Arpie Arslanian (1 year term), Onnig Bozian, Mari Camcikyan, Levon Capan, M.D., Grace Hagopian, Gregory Saraydarian, with Shake Torigian as alternate. For NOMINATING COMMITTEE: Maral Bezjian, Nadya Garipian, Zivart Gulian, Berta Yigitkurt, Sirarpi Yildiz, with Natalie Amerkanian, D.M.D. as alternate. AUDITING COMMITTEE: Arpi Cankar. For Year 2000 Parish Assembly: CHAIRMAN: Leon Nigohosian. SECRETARY: Jane Torigian. The Chairman congratulated all winners and thanked the Nominating Committee for all their efforts.

John Torigian made a motion that all organizations within the church must submit all accounting books, records and documentation to the Auditing Committee by January 15 in order to maintain their status of remaining a viable organization within the St. Thomas Armenian Church. Seconded by Arpie Arslanian. Motion carried.

Hovsep Taktajian made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 2:55pm. Seconded by Seta Yavru-Sakuk. Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned with a closing prayer by Rev. Fr. Dz. V. Anoushian.

Respectfully Submitted

Mary Ann Saraydarian Secretary, 1998 Parish Assembly

Leon Nigohosian Chairman, 1998 Parish Assembly V. Rev. Fr. Papken Dz.V. Anoushian Pastor and President, 1998 Parish Assembly