Holy Trinity Armenian Apostolic Church of Greater Boston

ANNUAL PARISH ASSEMBLY

FEBRUARY 6, 1977

The Annual Parish Assembly was held in the Cultural Hall on Sunday,
February 6, 1977 at 1:30 P.M., with our Pastor, Reverend Mampre Kouzouian,
presiding. The meeting was called to order by Parish Council Chairman,
Dr. Michael Kolligian Jr.

Mr. Peter Talanian was elected Chairman of the day, but would be detained from beginning the meeting for a few minutes. One ballot was cast for Mrs. Nancy Kasarjian, Recording Secretary in English and Ms. Araxie Janjigian, Recording Secretary in Armenian.

In Mr. Talanian's temporary absence, Dr. Kolligian asked for the reading of the minutes of the 1976 Parish Assembly. Upon Mr. Talanian's return, the nominees for Parish Council were asked to come forth to be introduced to the Assembly. Also introduced were the nominees for the Auditing Committee and the Nominating Committee.

The meeting was recessed for 10 minutes for ballots to be cast. All official ballots were specifically marked. It was announced that each person be sure to use the official ballot only. It was called to the Assembly's attention that nominations had not been closed. A motion was made and seconded that nominations be closed and voting continue.

The meeting was called back to order. The ballot boxes will remain open until 3:00 P.M.

Mr. Talanian asked Mr. John Soursourian to be Parlimentarian for the day.

Since the Pastor's report in included in the Annual Report, it was accepted as written.

Parish Council Report

Mrs. Dorothy Collins asked for report from the Membership Committee on

any efforts being made to stimulate new membership. Co-chairman of this committee, Robert Proodian, clarified that the Parish Council has waited for the arrival of the new Pastor. A letter is being prepared which will be sent to all new members. Mrs. Collins suggested we also make better use of the Hospitality Hour to welcome new people. Mr. Richard Zeytoonjian suggested we have at least six members on the Membership Committee in order to be effective.

Mr. Ardashes Der Ananian personally expressed to the Assembly that each church member make a sincere effort to fill and return the collection envelopes faithfully to help this church continue its work in the community.

Under disbursements, Mr. Zeytoonjian asked that the term "Clergy Relief" be clarified. It was explained that this amount his sent to the Diocese for Clergy health insurance and pension fund. Inquiry was also made as to the nature of the sum of money paid to Mr. Diran Dinjian. Treasurer George Hagopian explained that this is monies received by Mr. Dinjian for funerals and weddings, which go through the church records first.

Mr. Soursourian asked that the term certificate noted on Page 18 be designated as the Beshgeturian Fund. He also suggested that the interest from this fund be also designated by name. Mr. Diran Zahigian asked that the loan noted on page 15 under disbursements be paid off in the year 1977. It was noted by Mr. Soursourian that demands should not be made from the Assembly in this direction. It is the duty of the Parish Council to make these decisions as they see fit.

Upon request Dr. Michael Kolligian explained the Endownment Fund and real estate noted on page 18. A home has been deeded to the church with the stipulation that the donor remain living in the home until his death at which time his identity shall be given.

Mr. Talanian asked the members of the 1976 Nominating Committee to count

the votes.

Motion was made and seconded from the floor that the Asembly accept the reports of the Parish Council and the Budget. After a request for any questions, a motion was made and accepted to accept the reports of the Senior Women's Auxiliary, Young Women's Auxiliary, Trinity Men's Union, and the 1000 Club. Mr. George Hagopian brought us up to date on the progress of the 1000 Club and answered any questions posed.

A motion was made and seconded to accept each of the following reports:

Chelsea Women's Auxiliary
Lynn, Salem and Peabody Chapter
Holy Trinity Armenian School
Holy Trinity Sunday School
Holy Trinity Church Choir
ACYOA Seniors
Erevan Choral Society
Trinity Young Couples Club

At 3:00 P.M. Chairman Peter Talanian closed the balloting boxes.

New Business

John Soursourian asked that this Assembly confirm the wish of the Primate and this Parish Council by accepting Reverend Mampre Kouzouian to this Parish in a "vote of confidence". The entire Assembly stood in welcoming our new Der Hayre. Reverend Papken Maksoudian asked to say a few words of praise and welcome to our new Pastor.

Reverend Kouzouian also expressed a few words of encouragement and appealed to all of us to make a united effort to build the strength of this church.

A motion was made and seconded and so moved that hereafter we have a second microphone on the floor for the members of the Assembly to speak into in order that all may hear.

Mrs. Rose Zeytoonjian questioned our plans for the Annual Picnic for 1977 since we no longer have access to Camp Ararat. Dr. Kolligian assured

us that the Parish Council is in the process of finding another location in conjunction with the representatives of St. James.

Mrs. Carol Zeytoonjian brought up the question of changing the release time of Sunday School to coincide with church to avoid disruption. Der Hayr Kouzouian asked that Mrs. Grace Kaprelian, Sunday School Superintendent, and he discuss the matter and settle on a time which will be convenient for all. Mrs. Azadouhi Maksoudian made an appeal to the Assembly that we help the Armenian School membership to grow.

Mr. Soursourian suggested that the ballots not be officially stamped until each church member is individually accounted for and handed a stamped ballot.

The Nominating Committee then presented the results of the election. Parish Council

Helene Dorian	109
George D. Hagopian	108
Dr. Michael Kolligian Jr.	99
Ann Hintlian	82
Raymond Bozoian	61
Bruce Haroutunian	55
John Demirjian, Arlington (Alternate)	54
Auditing Committee	
Armine Der Hagopian	85
Hiram Diranian	67
Peter Zeytoonjian	74
Nominating Committee	
Haig Jamgochian	74
John Soursourian	74
George Haroutunian	70

Nominating Committee (continued)

Archie Kolligian

63

John Davagian

58

A total of 131 ballots were cast; four (4) were void. At 4:00 P.M. Der Hayr Kouzouian offered his congratulations to the winners. The benediction followed.

Respectfully submitted,

Nancy Kasarjian Recording Secretary

NK/rm