Capy

ST. SAHAG AND ST. MESROB ARMENIAN CHURCH Parish Assembly Minutes February 21, 1988

The Parish Assembly of St. Sahag and St. Mesrob Armenian Church was called to order by Parish Council Chairman, Grant Mazmanian, at 12:45 pm. The opening prayer was offered by The Reverend Paree Metjian, Pastor and President of this Assembly. In attendance were 129 dues paying members for 1987.

Parish Council Chairman, Grant Mazmanian, thanked Reverend Paree Metjian, the Council and parishioners for their assistance and support during his term as Chairman.

<u>Verification of Eligible Voters</u>: Eligible voters were required to sign the registration book, at which time they received a ballot.

<u>Election of Assembly Officers</u>: Edward Ounjian was elected Chairman of the Assembly, Malena Sarrafian as Secretary, and Richard Shakarjian as Parliamentarian.

Minutes of 1987 Assembly: The prior year minutes were accepted as printed.

Mr. Edward Ounjian thanked the Assembly for electing him Chairman, and invited Reverend Paree Metjian to deliver his message. Der Paree stated that our Parish must "Grow by Caring" and he appealed to everyone to get involved. (Copy attached.)

Election of Parish Council, Diocesan Delegates, Auditing and Nominating Committees: There being no additional nominations from the floor, nominations were closed. Candidates were introduced to the Assembly, and voting commenced. Ballots were received by Parish Council members as the name of each voter was called from the registration book. Appointed by the Assembly Chairman to count the ballots were Claudette Sarian, Peter Seropian and Zabelle Zarmanian.

Organization Reports: The Church Organization Reports were reviewed and discussed. A motion was made and passed to accept the reports as presented.

Adoption of 1988 Budget: A motion was made and passed to accept the 1988 Budget in the amount of \$262,772.00.

Old Business: Richard Shakarjian, Chairman of the Advisory Committee for the distribution of the interest income realized from the camp ground sale, reported on the recommendations made to the Parish Council. After some discussion, the following motion was made and passed.

The Parish Council is to be allocated one-half of the interest of the Camp Ground Fund, which is not to be used in the General Fund (line items,) and one-half to remain with the Permanent Memorial Fund in principal.

<u>Feasibility Committee</u>: John Sarian presented the Feasibility Committee report. (copy attached.)

Hall Rentals: Aram Fayda responded to questions from the floor, and recommended the hall be renovated in order to stay competitive. It was indicated that proceeds from the 25th Anniversary Celebration could be used to renovate the hall and kitchen. Edward Ounjian thanked Aram Fayda and George Hagopian for the outstanding job they have done.

New Business: There was some discussion and misunderstanding regarding the proposal that dues be increased to \$5.00 in 1989. Ohannes Meguerian of the Parish Council explained the figure was used as a guideline, and that the Pledge System was still in effect.

A motion was made and passed that a committee be formed to reach those not committed to St. Sahag and St. Mesrob Church. The Parish Council is to form this committee and report to the next Assembly.

Election results were reported as follows:

Parish Council - 7 elected

John Derderian
Vaughn Hoplamazian
Diane Khatchikian
Grant Mazmanian
Ohannes Meguerian
Malena Sarrafian
Robert Zakian

Alternate: Simon Ashekian and Lisa Manoogian

<u>Auditing Committee - 3 elected</u>

John Eskandarian Diran Shakarjian Harry Tashjian

Alternate: Robert Temoyan

<u>Diocesan Delegates - 4 elected</u>

George Devletian Louis Karagulian Deron Mazmanian Papken Meguerian

Alternate: Araxie Richards

Nominating Committee - 3 elected

Margaret Boyajian Sonia Bulkey Edward Kazanjian

Alternate: Michael Mullian

In closing, The Reverend Paree Metjian remembered others who served the Church in the past. Der Paree thanked those leaving their elected posts, and welcomed the newly elected members, as well as thanking the parishioners for their attendance.

The Parish Assembly was closed with a prayer offered by The Reverend Paree Metjian at 4:00 pm.

Malena Sarrafian Secretary

Edward Ounjian Cl

Chairman

Rev. Paree Metjian, Pastor