ST. SAHAG AND ST. MESROB ARMENIAN APOSTOLIC CHURCH PARISH ASSEMBLY MINUTES

FEBRUARY 21, 1993

The Annual Parish Assembly was called to order at 1:25 p.m. by George Devletian, last year's Assembly Chairman, and opened with a prayer from the Rev. Dr. Paree Metjian, Pastor.

There were 66 eligible voters when the meeting began. The number was increased to 71 when voting took place.

The chairman welcomed those in attendance and then asked for nominations for Assembly Chairman and Secretary. By a voice vote, Richard Shakarjian was elected Chairman, and Shaké Derderian, Secretary. The meeting was then turned over to the Assembly Chairman.

Steve Barsamian was appointed Parliamentarian for the meeting.

The Minutes of the 1992 Assembly had been circulated in advance. There were no changes or additions, and the Minutes were approved.

Report of the Nomination Committee: The ballot was presented as follows and no additional names were added.

<u>Parish Council</u>: Melcom Avrigian, George Boyajian, Shaké Derderian, Sarkis Etoian, Esahag Gurenlian, Eleanor Hachadorian, Jovia Keytanjian, Bedros S. Kolandjian, Karin Egavian Luhmann, Anahid Megerian* and Gerald Williams.

Nominating Committee: Alma Alabilikian, Joseph Hoplamazian, Sr., Charles Keytanjian, Richard Peckjian and Marie Hoplamazian.

<u>Auditing Committee</u>: John Eskandarian*, Harry Hoplamazian, Edward Kazanjian, Vahe Kehyayan, Marcus Mamourian and Daniel C. Takoushian.

*Incumbent

All candidates present were invited to come forward to introduce themselves to the Assembly.

A question was raised regarding whether Parish Council members can serve on other committees. There is nothing in the by-laws stating that they cannot, therefore it is not a conflict to serve on more than one committee.

Grace Odabashian, Edward Boyajian and Harry Arakelian were asked to count the ballots.

<u>Pastor's Report</u>: A question was raised about the Library Committee being active and Fr. Paree said that it is inactive at present. The committee names were also amended, adding Carol Leszczynski to the list.

Report of Parish Council and other Church Organizations: Members of the Assembly were invited to ask questions or make comments as the respective reports were reviewed.

An oversite to the <u>Parish Council Report</u> was mentioned and the appropriate amendment was made, thanking Fr. Paree Metjian for his service.

A question was raised regarding the use of funds, as a loan, from the Memorial Hall Youth Fund for the church air-conditioning. The response was that this was merely an interest bearing loan to the Parish Council (an investment).

Motion was made by Steve Barsamian: Pursuant to the By-Laws of the Memorial Hall Youth Fund Committee, of the Parish Council, of the Permanent Endowment Fund, that the \$50,000 loan to the Parish Council for the Church Air Conditioner in June 1992, be approved.

Motion Passed 34 in favor, 22 opposed.

Adoption of the 1993 Budget: A motion was made and seconded to adopt the proposed budget for 1993, in the amount of \$306,748.00. The motion passed.

<u>PEF Report</u>: Corrections to report: Paragraph III, delete Youth Committee; Paragraph I, duplication of Grace Odabashian 2,850.00 for Misak, Mary and Arshalous Boyajian.

A motion was made to accept all reports as amended, by George Mangigian. Passed in favor of the motion.

New Business:

Comment by Papken Megerian: Those Parish Council members who have not attended the proper number of Parish Council meetings, must be forced to resign, according to the Diocesan By-Laws.

<u>Proposal 1:</u> Proposal by the Parish Council to the Parish Assembly, (Appendix I), for allocation of the funds held by the PEF. 20 were in favor and 23 were against. The proposal was therefore defeated.

Comment by George Mangigian: Monies from the PEF must be disbursed in a timely fashion, within 14 days of submission of request by the Parish Council.

Comment by Noubar Karagulian: There must be designated areas for smoking in the halls during any church event. Discussion followed.

Noubar made a motion to prohibit smoking in the halls during all Church functions. The motion was seconded and passed.

PARISH COUNCIL.

Election Results:

	17111	SII COOLICIL	
	(6 elected)	
Karin Luhmann	(56)	Anahid Megerian	(52)
George Boyajian	(55)	Jovia Keytanjian	(42)
Gerald Williams	(53)	Shaké Derderian	(35)
Alternates:	Melcom Avrigian (30); Esahag Gurenlian (17); Bedros Kolandjian (17); Sarkis Etoian (8); Eleanor Hachadorian (6)		
	NOMINATING COMMITTEE		
(3 elected)			
Marie Hoplamazian Alma Alabilikian	(56) (53)	Joe Hoplamazian, Sr.	(36)
Alternates:	Charles Keytanjian (33); Richard Peckjian (22)		

AUDITING COMMITTEE

(3 elected)

John Eskandarian (56) Harry Hoplamazian (36) Marcus Mamourian (36)

Alternates: Daniel Ta

Daniel Takoushian (35); Edward Kazanjian (19); Vahe Kehyayan (19)

The Chair then turned the meeting over to Fr. Paree, who thanked all who served in specific capacities during the past year, including the out-going members of the Parish Council.

The meeting was closed with a prayer, and adjourned at 3:40 p.m.

Fr. Paree Metjian Pastor

Richard Shakarjian Assembly Chairman

Shaké Derderian Assembly Secretary