MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL PARISH ASSEMBLY

February 28, 1993

INVOCATION

The parish was led in prayer by the Very Reverend Father Oshagan Gulgulian.

VERIFICATION OF ELIGIBLE VOTERS

The meeting was called to order at 12:50 p.m by Parish Council Chairman, Linda Sharigian. A roll call of eligible voters was taken by Carol Garabetian, Parish Council Assistant Treasurer, indicating 33 parish members out of 60 members were present.

ELECTION OF ASSEMBLY OFFICERS

Nominations were taken for Chairman, Secretary and Parliamentarian of the 1993, Annual Parish Assembly. John Baronian was elected Chairman, Pamela Mazmanian was elected Secretary and Linda Sharigian was elected Parliamentarian.

READING OF THE 1993 ASSEMBLY MINUTES

Azniv Amirkhanian read the minutes of the 1992 annual meeting. The minutes were approved.

1992 FINANCIAL REPORT

Carol Garabetian presented the financial report to the assembly. It was noted that numerous accounts were merged into three separate accounts during the 1992 fiscal year.

1993 BUDGET

It was clarified that parish membership dues for 1993 of \$100.00 are in effect. Formerly membership dues were \$225.00. Parishioners will have the opportunity to make a pledge to the church separate from membership dues.

Linda Sharigian read a letter from the Diocese which indicated the proposed pastor stipend is consistent with the Diocese's recommendation and is consistent with other parishes. A 5% cost of living raise was recommended by Council.

Bedros Bandazian made a motion that the financial report and budget be approved. Joyce Soghoian seconded the motion. The motion was passed.

Paul Mazmanian made the recommendation that Council send a thank you note to Ron Greene for management of endowments and selected other accounts throughout most of 1992.

PASTOR'S REPORT

A written copy of the report is enclosed.

REPORT OF PARISH COUNCIL AND CHURCH ORGANIZATIONS

The written reports are enclosed. An addition to the choir report was noted by Robert Thomas. There are 11 full time members, 4 part time members and 1 substitute organist. Choir Director, Robert Thomas stated that there is need for a new organ.

Joyce Soghoian made a motion that the reports be approved. Donna Walker seconded the motion. The reports were approved.

ELECTION OF PARISH COUNCIL MEMBERS, DIOCESAN DELEGATE, NOMINATING AND AUDITING COMMITTEES

Candidates for 1993-1994 include:

Parish Council: Tigran Amirkhanian, Henry Magarian, Robert Thomas, Aram Topjian, Isabelle Vranian and Donna Walker.

Diocesan Delegate: Azniv Amirkhanian and Virginia Greene

Nominating Committee: Margie Baronian, Marleine Garabetian, Linda Sharigian, Elizabeth Tootelian, Donna Walker and Dora Diradour

Auditing Committee: John Baronian, Nebe Boyajian, Charles Dedeian, Robert Magarian, Joyce Soghoian, Bedros Bandazian and Sam Baronian

Members elected are as follows:

Parish Council: Tigran Amirkhanian, Henry Magarian and Aram Topjian

Diocesan Delegate: Virginia Greene

Nominating Committee: Margie Baronian, Marleine Garabetian and Linda Sharigian

Auditing Committee: John Baronian, Nebe Boyajian and Charles Dedeian

OLD BUSINESS

Bedros Bandazian made a motion to have the new Parish Council immediately address the retirement fund for Hayr Soorp. The motion was seconded by George Euksuzian. The motion was approved.

Linda Sharigian stated that the results of the parish survey conducted in 1992 will be given to the new Council.

There was a recommendation that the dates and topics of Parish Council meetings be printed in the Sevan so that parishioners can attend meetings of interest.

It was noted that there is a need for a new Chairman of the food festival.

NEW BUSINESS

Bedros Bandazian moved that an Endowment and Finance Committee, consisting of 3 people with one person elected for 5 years, one person elected for 4 years and one person elected for 3 years, be developed. The motion was seconded by Virginia Greene. The motion was approved.

The following six people were nominated as members of the Endowment and Finance Committee: Sam Baronian, Bedros Bandazian, Jack Tootelian, Aram Topjian, John Baronian and Azniv Amirkhanian.

The following people were elected: Bedros Bandazian (5 years), Sam Baronian (3 or 4 years) and Jack Tootelian (3 or 4 years).

Father Oshagan Gulgulian announced that he was resigning as pastor of St. James Armenian Church and that the current announcement served as two week notice, to be followed by written notice.

BENEDICTION

The parish was led in prayer by the Very Reverend Father Oshagan Gulgulian.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 4:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Pamela Mazmanan

Secretary of the Assembly February 28, 1993