## ST. MESROB ANNUAL PARISH ASSEMBLY - JANUARY 29, 1978

The meeting was called to order at 2:15 p.m. by chairman of the Parish Council, George Stevoff. We were led in prayer by Deacon Charles Hardy. It was moved and seconded that the 41 persons present constitute a quorum. Motion carried. Per By-Law 17, since less than 50 voting members were present, all decisions and elections have to be passed with a two-thirds majority of those present and voting.

Mike Garoukian was elected assembly chairperson and Elsie Garoukian was elected assembly secretary.

John Esayian read the minutes of the previous meeting. There were no corrections or additions; therefore, the minutes stand approve as read.

A review was made of the Pastor's Report, Parish Council Report, the 1977 Financial Statement and Parish Organizational Reports and all questions were answered by the respective organization representatives.

Outgoing Parish Council Members Murad Gengozian, Myron Chordegian and John Esayian were thanked for their hard work and dedication.

Nominations were opened for the following: Parish Council members (3), Diocesan Delegates (3), Auditing Committee (3) and Nominating Committee (3). There being no nominations from the floor, we proceeded to elect from the list of candidates submitted by the Nominating Committee.

#### Parish Council Nominees

Robert Akulian Gene Chardukian Sam Kachichian Peter Kazarian Tony Minasian Joe Yahnian

## Elected (two year terms)

Joe Yahnian\* Gene Chardukian\* Robert Akulian\*\*

#### Diocesan Delegate Nominees

Sarkis Cherkinian John Esayian Charles Dadian Murad Gengozian George Sahagian George Stevoff

# Elected (four year terms)

George Stevoff\*
John Esayian\*\*
Sarkis Cherkinian\*\*

## Auditing Committee Nominees

Margaret Armaganian Mary Cherkinian Charles Dadian Sue Esayian Hunaz Hazarian Mary Ann Injasoulian

# Elected (one year term)

Mary Cherkinian\*
Margaret Armaganian\*\*
Sue Esayian\*\*

## Nominating Committee Nominees

# Elected (one year term)

Mark Akgulian
Sam Akgulian
Tarquin Andekian
Harry Cherkinian
Myron Chordegian
Shockey Gengozian

Harry Cherkinian\* Mark Akgulian\*\* Tarquin Andekian\*\*

It was moved and seconded to re-organize the Permanent Trust Committee. This committee is to direct parish councils to transfer all funds in excess of \$5,000 to a permanent trust fund at the end of each fiscal year. Motion carried.

# Permanent Trust Committee Nominees

#### Elected

Sam Akgulian
Harry Armaganian
Elsie Garoukian
Murad Gengozian
Sam Kaprelian
Mesag Vidian

Sam Akgulian\* (3 year term) Harry Armaganian\* (2 year term) Elsie Garoukian\*\* (1 year term)

Discussion followed on the proposal to permit tagging on all donated articles of property showing donor and memorial. Further that a Permanent Scroll be prepared and kept in a church room to be designated "Founders Room", listing all original donors of the Building Project. At the suggestion of Mike Janikian, it was agreed to vote only on the subject of tagging all donated articles. Yes - 22 No - 18. Motion defeated.

The next proposal was to increase individual dues from \$15.00 to \$25.00 per year per member effective January 1, 1978. Yes - 42 No - 5. Motion carried.

#### New Business

Var Cherkinian thanked all who had been called during the year to help with the cleaning of the church. Of those called, 48 agreed to clean while only 4 persons refused. She said all the volunteers had done a beautiful job. The Parish Council will appoint someone to continue this work.

Mary Janikian spoke in behalf of the ACYOA Juniors. She would like to see one of the members sent by the church as a representative to the national group meeting. Mary Ashjian suggested a full scholarship by Parish Council and/or Women's Guild for Summer Study Conference and Deacons Training Program. Sahag Akgulian suggested some funding for these projects come from the Diocese.

Goldie Roy suggested that Chuck Hardy be compensated for weekly services while we are without clergy. John Esayian mentioned that this subject was under discussion at the Parish Council meetings. The assembly instructed the Parish Council to take this suggestion under advisement.

Var Cherkinian moved that the budget for 1978 be adopted as submitted. Al Topalian seconded the motion. Motion carried.

The Nominating Committee indicated that 50 persons were finally in attendance, meeting the quorum. Paul Chobanian moved that hereafter the meeting be conducted under the simple majority rule since there were 50 members present. The motion was seconded by Myron Chordegian. Yes - 48 No - 1. Motion carried.

It was moved by Sue Esayian to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Goldie Roy. The meeting was adjourned at 5:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Mike Garoukian

Assembly Chairperson

Elsie Garoukian

Assembly Secretary

\* - two-thirds

\*\* - majority