ST. MESROB ARMENIAN APOSTOLIC CHURCH 4605 Erie Street Racine, Wisconsin 53402

January 28, 1979

The St. Mesrob Parish Assembly was called to order by Chairman Stephen Barootian at 2:30 p.m. on January 28, 1979. A prayer was led by Mikael Garoukian.

There were 32 members in attendance. It was moved by Murad Gengozian and seconded by Harry Cherkinian that the membership present constitute a quorum. Motion carried.

George Stevoff was elected chairman of the meeting and Elsie Garoukian was elected secretary. Minutes of the last parish assembly were not read as Robert Akulian, who is the secretary, was hospitalized due to a car accident.

Stephen Barootian answered all questions regarding the 1978 Parish Council report. In answer to questions pertaining to what the council had done relative to a parish priest, Mr. Baroctian advised that the Parish Council had invited seven clergy within the Diocese to visit our parish -- all the invitations had been declined for various reasons. These letters were sent during the month of July. Currently there are no negotiations for a clergyman to come to this parish.

<u>1978 Financial Statement</u> - Sahag Akgulian moved and Var Cherkinian seconded to approve the 1978 Financial Statement as submitted. Motion carried.

<u>1979 Budget</u> - Questions concerning the 1979 budget were answered by Stephen Barootian and Treasurer Sarkis Cherkinian after which Harry Cherkinian moved and Murad Gengozian seconded to accept the 1979 budget as submitted. Motion carried. Parish Organizational Reports were made by:

Choir Women's Guild Armenian School Sunday School ACYOA Picnic Committee Project Committee Auditing Committee Permanent Trust Fund

Hayr Soorp Varoujan Kabaradjian arrived at the meeting at approx1mately 3:30 due to some misunderstanding regarding the starting time of the meeting.

Nominating Committee members Harry Cherkinian and Tarquin Andekiss

presented the following slate of nominees.

Parish Council

Four new members will be elected to the Parish Council and one additional members will be elected for a one year term to fill the unexpired term of Joseph Yahnian who resigned. Nominees were:

> Sahag Akgulian Adam Barootian Harry Cherkinian Paul Chobanian Sam Garabedian Mikael Garoukian Tod Mikaelian Mesag Vidian

Elected:

Sahag Akgulian Harry Cherkinian Mikael Garoukian Mesag Vidian

Adam Barootian (elected to a one year term)

Auditing Committee nominees - three for a one year term:

Harry Boranian Mary Cherkinian Sarkis Cherkinian Sue Esayian Mary Janikian Catherine Mikaelian

Elected

Harry Boranian Sarkis Cherkinian Catherine Mikaelian

Nominating Committee Nominees - three for one year term:

Harry Akgulian Stephen Barootian Charles Garabedian Shockey Gengozian Mary Kamadian Frank Vidian

Elected

Harry Akgulian Stephen Barootian Frank Vidian

Permanent Trust Fund Nominees - one for three year term:

Myron Chordegian Charles Dadian

Elected

Charles Dadian

It was proposed by the Parish Council to increase individual dues for each parish member from \$25.00 to \$35.00. There were 22 ayes and no nayes. Motion carried.

The Very Reverend Varoujan Kabaradjian thanked Deacon Charles Hardy, subdeacon Mikael Garoukian and all the acolytes, choir members and persons who have helped to make St. Mesrob continue during this period of not having a priest. He told of his fondness for the Racine parish and how gratified he feels when he see the children he baptized as babies serving on the altar

and in various other capacities within the church. He suggested the congregation honor our outgoing parish councilmen in a more special way.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

arauker

George Stevoff Chairman Elsie Garoukian Secretary